Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Love the simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by drspanklebum
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Great recipe!! Made with some additions from helpful comments and some personal preferences. Here's what I did: Ingredients added - - 3 red potatoes, cubed - Several asparagus - 1 cup or 1 half onion, chopped - 1 cup sliced mushroom - 1 clove garlic, chopped - 1/2 cup balsamic INSTEAD of 1/4. - 2 (8 oz.) beef tenderloin - 12 in cast iron skillet if available (if not, go get one. You deserve it!) Prep: - Heat oven to 400 - Set out steaks for 20-30 minutes, season both sides w/salt and pepper 1. Fire up the cast iron skillet, add 1 tbsp each of butter and oil. Sauté onion, mushroom, and garlic. Transfer to a bowl and set aside when onion is translucent. 2. Toss on another tbsp of butter, and throw on the steaks to sear 2.5 mins, FLIP, then 2.5 mins on the other side, FLIP, throw in the potatoes and asparagus, and finally toss it in the oven. Now set the timer for 7 minutes and get to work on that saus. Hopefully by this point things are looking like the attached photo. 3. In a small saucepan, get your 1/2 cup balsamic and 1/4 cup wine good'n hot, and toss in the onion/shroom/garlic from before. Keep stirring and reduce. 4. BEEP! Open your oven, flip the steaks, stir & season the potatoes with some salt and pepper, and set the timer for another 7 minutes. Now you can chill out for a minute and enjoy some of that wine you just opened. Keep stirring saus. 5. BEEP! Set aside steaks for a few minutes, and start plating! Simply amazing results!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
MUST TRY! I didn't follow the original recipe, but added garlic and brown sugar per other reviews and OMG this was amazing! I also browned the steaks in the pan first and finished in the oven (like I always do) and reduced the sauce seperately (also doubled the sauce). Very sexy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charmaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was the best filet mignon I have ever had and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Just enjoyed this for Valentine's Day dinner. I did place the meat in a zip-lock bag with olive oil, pepper & garlic for hours before cooking other wise followed the receipe. We liked it very much! This time of year, using the grill is difficult and with only two of us - using the stove top was qucik, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I followed suggestions already posted - 1/2 cup quality balsamic (I used pomegranate balsamic, it was delicious), 1/4 cup dry sherry, heaping tablespoon brown sugar, and 1 minced garlic clove. I cooked the sauce separately until it was syrupy. Let the filets rest at room temp for 45 mins or so (30-60 mins is good), then seasoned with sea salt and fresh ground black pepper on both sides. Cooked on med/high heat for 1 min on each side, then about 4 mins with the saute pan covered (for medium rare). Added about a tbsp of crumbled blue cheese and broiled for a minute or so. Then, drizzled the sauce on it. Had asparagus and mashed potatoes with it. Absolutely phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Love, love, love this glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very good recipe. Next time I'll reduce the sauce a little more, I prefer a thicker sauce. DH thought it was a bit too much balsamic though I liked the balsamic amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This glaze is amazing! Hubs asked me to please remember this recipe; a good sign!! I made the glaze and grilled the steaks. I did whisk in a little butter at the end. I will double the glaze next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This glaze has become my husband's favorite. I double the amount and reduce over the stove in a separate pan. I broil the filets wrapped with bacon for about 10 min each side. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States