Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
This works well with pork chops too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was pretty good. A tiny bit too "vinegary" for my taste, but based on the other reviews that is probably just me. I'm more the sauteed mushroom kind of guy when it comes to filet mignon. However, I was very pleased how perfectly cooked the meat turned out in following this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCADAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Wow this turned out wonderfully! I browned the meat on each side for a min and then after pouring the double sauce recipe over and continued cooking on each side for six minutes! I loved this!! I added some extra spices and such like garlic ..thank you! My first time cooking any steak at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa JoAnna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I was hesitant to try this, but it was excellent! You must use good quality balsamic, or the sauce will taste like vinegar. Be sure to let the sauce simmer so it reduces. Next time I will try adding a little brown sugar to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Awesome recipe!!!! Allrecipes and the wide selection of low sodium recipes on the cooking app, SideChef, are my go tos for healthy recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Made this for hubby's bday tonight. I don't eat red meat, but he said it was so good that I should give it 5 stars! I made the glaze separately, as suggested by others. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ParsonDave
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Tried this for a Valentine's Day dinner for my honey - DELICIOUS! I took IMVINTAGE's suggestion (and a few of my own) and it was seriously one of the best meals of our lives. I doubled the balsamic (and not the wine), added brown sugar and minced garlic, and reduced to syrupy consistency. Also topped with Garonzola cheese and broiled just before drizzling the glaze. The real key was in how I cooked the filets. First allowed the steaks to sit out for about a 1/2 hr to an hour before I salted and peppered them liberally.I then baked the 1 1/2 thick filets FIRST inthe oven @275 degrees until internal temp reached just under 130 degrees (on a broiler rack over a cookie sheet). I next pulled them out (and allowed them to rest for 10 minutes (while heating oven to broil, and skillet to sear). Next I seared the steaks in a skillet with a little canola oil, 1-2 min per side (I did both in the same pan at the same time). Then I topped with cheese and broiled for just a few minutes until the cheese began to melt. Cooking the steak this way resulted in a perfect (and I mean PERFECT) medium rare to medium steak, edge to edge. It was the best steak I've ever eaten and will be cooking this meal for friends as soon as I can just. To have them experience it! Thanks All Recipies community!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
The meat turned out pink inside, which was good. However, did not like the sauce - it was very vinegar tasting. May substitute beef broth for the vinegar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This had the potential to be amazing, but was too vinegary. I'm not sure if cooking it longer would have helped. It also didn't thinking as others mentioned so I used a touch of flour which made the consistency better. I will try again, cooking the sauce for longer and if that doesn't work I will double the wine but not the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Made this for Valentine's dinner. My Valentine approved & loovvveeed!!! It was simple. I followed the directions with the only change adding garlic. It didn't over power the fantastic filets I picked up at all. Just a juicy filet with some flair cooked just right using red wine & balsamic vin. I served with a side of Rosemary potatoes, steamed asparagus & shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Chan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 797) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States