Filet Mignon with Mushroom-Cabernet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Whoa! This is great. I added a little garlic, just because I love garlic. I also used Merlot because that is what I had. I let the Merlot reduce down a couple of times. Ended up using about half a bottle when it was all finished. Talk about intense flavor. The next day, I have it waiting for lunch and can not wait. Thinking about when I will make it again and how to add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
It was wonderful although I used 1.5 inch thick filets and as I live in south Louisiana I used a roux instead of corn starch as a thickener. One other change was the steak prep. I seasoned the steaks with sea salt and crushed black pepper then let them rest in the fridge for two hours prior to cooking. This allows a chemical reaction to take place within the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nearcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Loved this! Omitted thyme and was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Besgabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Made for the fist time. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
This recipe even won over my picky eaters! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This was only the 2nd time I ate filet mignon. The only changes I made were onions instead of shallot and pinot noir instead of cabernet but only because I didn't have the others. I cooked two steaks but they were a total of 1.5 lbs so I adjusted the rest of the ingredients. We split it 3 ways and I would definitely cook this again. It was awesome. Even my picky husband raved about it. Good Job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Just finished two wonderfully cooked steaks! I cooked mostly to recipe with exception of the thyme, water/starch. I did use all the listed ingredients only used the beef broth instead of water to make the paste. I found that there was much more sauce than we needed (cooked for my wife and I). We had plenty of mushrooms left over. The only complaint my saucier (wife) had was that it needed a little more salt. (I forgot the most important part of tasting before serving...). Overall an eccellent dish and so glad you shared it!! I'm stuffed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
This makes the best gravy EVER. What a compliment to a wonderful piece of beef. A recipe to really impress. A nice dish to follow with really not a whole lot of ingredients and it will come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I tried this last night for Valentine's Day dinner and kept to the recipe (though I may have added to the 1 cup splash or two of wine!). It was absolutely delicious and both of us were over the moon! I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus, washed down with a nice cabernet. Thank you Muffinmom for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
we only used the mushroom sauce and it was phenomenal. We pan seared the filet then put it in the oven at 500 for 6 minutes for medium rare. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States