Filet Mignon with Mushroom-Cabernet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sean f.
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
Sauce overwhelmed the steak :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sean f.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I added steak sauce to the sauce as it was simmering its adds a beef flavor we thought it was missing otherwise it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Howard
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Great recipe! We really enjoyed the simplicity and delicate flavors. We followed the instructions exactly and our Filets came out perfectly (medium rare). I made this with Potatoes Lyonnaise and a roasted White Asparagus dish I put together. A French Baguette is required to sop up the extra sauce! Thanks for this great gourmet dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Photo by heidi
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This was really good!! The sauce was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So delicious! I was exactly what I was in the mood for tonight. I didn't use the cornstarch. I didn't see any need - the wine/broth reduced down perfectly. At "campagnes" suggestion, I tossed in a little bit of butter at the very end. Good call.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Great but sauce could be a bit thicker, 2 teaspoons of cornflower would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I really liked the recipe. I did not cook the steak in the sauce though to allow my guests to appreciate the filet mignon by itself if they wish to do so. I used shiitake mushrooms instead button mushrooms because I like the texture and flavor more. The sauce just wasn't rich enough for me so I added 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce, salt, and two tablespoons of butter instead of cornstarch (thank you Campagnes for the suggestion). The sauce became amazing and stole the show from the filet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Whoa! This is great. I added a little garlic, just because I love garlic. I also used Merlot because that is what I had. I let the Merlot reduce down a couple of times. Ended up using about half a bottle when it was all finished. Talk about intense flavor. The next day, I have it waiting for lunch and can not wait. Thinking about when I will make it again and how to add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
It was wonderful although I used 1.5 inch thick filets and as I live in south Louisiana I used a roux instead of corn starch as a thickener. One other change was the steak prep. I seasoned the steaks with sea salt and crushed black pepper then let them rest in the fridge for two hours prior to cooking. This allows a chemical reaction to take place within the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nearcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Loved this! Omitted thyme and was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Besgabe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States