Filet Mignon with Mushroom-Cabernet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
My husband & I liked this a lot. I love the idea of a wine sauce with mushrooms. I didn't use the thyme or cornstarch. I used flour to thicken it up. Next time I will use less flour to make it more of a "sauce' than "gravy". Filet Mignon is to good of a meat to cover up with gravy. It was my husband's Valentines Day dinner and we were both pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I, too, made this for Valentine's Day 2010 for my lovey and it was fantastic! When Mark was done with his, he declared my portion that I could not eat "dessert steak" - Yes, it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe! My husband and I cooked it together for Valentines Day. We used Pinot Noir for the wine and it turned out perfect. The steak was tender and juicy and full of flavor. Be sure to use thick enough cuts. I wouldn't change a thing when making this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this sauce for Valentines Day! Excellent! I grilled the Filets on the grill first then assembled the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was very good! I didn't want to spend the money on filet mignon for my family of 5, so used top sirloin. I'm sure filet would have been even better and might try it again with filets someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenskitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Fantastic meal. No leftovers. Used green onions instead of shallot. Rather than corn starch, made a roux with flour and butter and added the shiraz to that. Perfect mix of tender and crusty. We'd have happily paid a lot for this in a restaurant. Can't wait to try again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahjongg Jana
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was amazing. 1st time I try a recipe I always follow it 100%, then figure out where I want to deviate. This one needed no change whatsoever. I would've paid a lot in a restaurant for this and not complained 1 bit. The color of the sauce didn't look appetizing at first, but as soon as I tasted it I had no more concern. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it is outstanding. The sauce is rich and very flavorful. I served this with lots of roasted French green beans and a little serving of roasted garlic mashed potatoes. I will definitely make this again! Thanks Muffinmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefychefy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
very good. I love mushrooms with any kind of red meat. This is a simple mushroom sauce that can be used often at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Restaurant quality... no doubt. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States