Filet Mignon with Mushroom-Cabernet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Used a ruby port since that was already open. I thought it was decilicous. It was a tad salty even though i used a low sodium beef broth. I ended up using canned mushrooms and dry thyme, but it was a wonderfully tasty dinner served with green beans and twice baked potatoes. The sauce made the recipe. Definitely a company's coming kind of meal. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
AMAZING! I used about a cup of beef broth instead of a half to make the sauce brown and not purple. I also didn't have cornstarch so I mixed left over beef broth with flour and mixed with sauce. I served over garlic mashed potatoes and sliced the meat ontop of potatoes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
AMAZING. I even liked the purple color of the sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was so good. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Val-Flowers
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was so yummy! and suprisingly easy too! the only change I made was I used 1 can beef broth instead of just 1/2 cup. It was also very pretty on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val-Flowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was pretty darn good. I think 1 cup of wine was a little too much for my taste. I also used chicken broth bc I didnt have beef-definitely would have been better with the beef. I am going to try this recipe again using less wine and a good quality beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Restaurant quality... no doubt. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
very good. I love mushrooms with any kind of red meat. This is a simple mushroom sauce that can be used often at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it is outstanding. The sauce is rich and very flavorful. I served this with lots of roasted French green beans and a little serving of roasted garlic mashed potatoes. I will definitely make this again! Thanks Muffinmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefychefy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was amazing. 1st time I try a recipe I always follow it 100%, then figure out where I want to deviate. This one needed no change whatsoever. I would've paid a lot in a restaurant for this and not complained 1 bit. The color of the sauce didn't look appetizing at first, but as soon as I tasted it I had no more concern. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States