Filet Mignon with Mushroom-Cabernet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Val-Flowers
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was so yummy! and suprisingly easy too! the only change I made was I used 1 can beef broth instead of just 1/2 cup. It was also very pretty on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This was pretty darn good. I think 1 cup of wine was a little too much for my taste. I also used chicken broth bc I didnt have beef-definitely would have been better with the beef. I am going to try this recipe again using less wine and a good quality beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Restaurant quality... no doubt. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
very good. I love mushrooms with any kind of red meat. This is a simple mushroom sauce that can be used often at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it is outstanding. The sauce is rich and very flavorful. I served this with lots of roasted French green beans and a little serving of roasted garlic mashed potatoes. I will definitely make this again! Thanks Muffinmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefychefy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was amazing. 1st time I try a recipe I always follow it 100%, then figure out where I want to deviate. This one needed no change whatsoever. I would've paid a lot in a restaurant for this and not complained 1 bit. The color of the sauce didn't look appetizing at first, but as soon as I tasted it I had no more concern. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Fantastic meal. No leftovers. Used green onions instead of shallot. Rather than corn starch, made a roux with flour and butter and added the shiraz to that. Perfect mix of tender and crusty. We'd have happily paid a lot for this in a restaurant. Can't wait to try again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahjongg Jana
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was very good! I didn't want to spend the money on filet mignon for my family of 5, so used top sirloin. I'm sure filet would have been even better and might try it again with filets someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenskitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is a really yummy recipe, but it's not the very best I've ever made, and needed a bit of extra kick on the spices. I will most likely make this again, though next time I think I will reduce the amount of oil to cook the steaks and cook down the sauce more. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Excellent! Except I did not cook the beef in the sauce. I pan seared them and cooked them in the oven. I used the sauce on top of the beef when I served them. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and a spring mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDSINTHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States