Filet Mignon with Mushroom-Cabernet Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Just finished two wonderfully cooked steaks! I cooked mostly to recipe with exception of the thyme, water/starch. I did use all the listed ingredients only used the beef broth instead of water to make the paste. I found that there was much more sauce than we needed (cooked for my wife and I). We had plenty of mushrooms left over. The only complaint my saucier (wife) had was that it needed a little more salt. (I forgot the most important part of tasting before serving...). Overall an eccellent dish and so glad you shared it!! I'm stuffed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
This makes the best gravy EVER. What a compliment to a wonderful piece of beef. A recipe to really impress. A nice dish to follow with really not a whole lot of ingredients and it will come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I tried this last night for Valentine's Day dinner and kept to the recipe (though I may have added to the 1 cup splash or two of wine!). It was absolutely delicious and both of us were over the moon! I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus, washed down with a nice cabernet. Thank you Muffinmom for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimsmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
we only used the mushroom sauce and it was phenomenal. We pan seared the filet then put it in the oven at 500 for 6 minutes for medium rare. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Made several batches of this for a dinner party tonight, and it's wonderful. My methodology was a little different than the recipe: I seared the steaks on both sides, then finished in the oven to medium. When i removed the steaks from the pan, there was lots of yummy brown fond in the bottom of the pan, which I included in the sauce (if you prepare your steaks and sauce in separate cooking vessels, your sauce will suffer for lack of yummy brown bits!). I didn't cook the steaks in the sauce - used only 1/2 cup wine and 1/2 cup stock, let it reduce by half, then removed from heat and swirled in 2 tablespoons butter at the end to give the sauce a little extra rich feel; this also allowed me to omit the cornstarch and still have a nice, rich sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Hubs prepared the steaks on the grill (to perfection I might add) while I took care of the sauce. I have to admit my first impression was that I was kind of turned off by the sort of purply mushrooms and sauce. I used a good quality, rich beef stock and an even better Cabernet Sauvignon. Wow, this is really gonna be good, I thought. I added the cornstarch but found it really wasn't necessary; the sauce reduced nicely on its own. We sat down to eat and were surprised and disappointed to find the sauce...weak. I expected full-bodied flavor but it just wasn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
The sauce for this recipe is fantastic. For the filet mignon, I actually cut it up into bite size pieces so that the sauce can cover more meat. Easier for my kids to eat as well. Served this with a side of mashed potatoes and steamed carrots and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
all i can say is YUM! IVE made this quite a fw timws and alway comes out great and never any leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Absolutely a great treat - easy to make - and make extra sauce please - goes so well over garlic mashed potatoes. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SycamoreMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I have a recipe close to this 1 for a filet mignon tenderloin roast. Great at Christmas. I also use 1 can of condensed beef broth and 1 cup a good Pinot Noir or Cabernet Sauvignon. Pan sear the roast in a skillet, finish baking it in the oven. Great with roasted new potatoes with garlic, italian herb and melted cheddar cheese on top and steamed fresh asparagus. For the roast cut a garlic clove in half rub the roast with that and salt, pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Chef John's Manhattan Filet

Turn a strip steak into something more like a filet mignon, only more flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States