Filet Mignon with Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was an excellent sauce that is quick and easy to prepare and is full of flavor. I substituted minced garlic for the shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatChief04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Prepared beef tenderloin for a crowd but followed the original 4 servings for this sauce because we never serve anything on filets other than the salt, pepper, and seasonings put on the meat before grilling. I was in the mood for something a little different and chose this, thinking I would be the only one interested in trying it. I was wrong and should have tripled this! Everyone that tried it wanted it and I had to promise there would be enough for everyone next time. I followed the recipe except I had used my shallots in another side dish and only had Vidalia in the pantry. This worked out perfect in our opinion and I wouldn't hesitate to make it the same again. This sauce is delicious and the bacon goes perfectly with the tenderloin. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This sauce was outstanding! It perfectly complimented the beef tenderloin and my family loved it! I substituted chopped pancetta for the bacon to use up some leftover pancetta and added more half-and-half to make the sauce creamier. We also added a steak rub to the tenderloin before grilling it. We'll definitely be making this recipe part of our Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very good. Next time I'll make a little more sauce to put on rice or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crolfe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This recipe was fantastic! I used this recipe for the bacon cream sauce and it was phenomenal! Made the perfect Valentine's Day Dinner, paired my filets with lobster tails and viola. I didn't have shallots, used red onion instead, and added chopped garlic...Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made this dish for company last night and ended up using double the half and half. I also made my sauce first and kept it warm under a heat lamp so I could visit with my friends and when ready grilled the steaks on the stove top grill, which really required no concentration. Served this with asparagus and thick sliced beefsteak tomatoes drizzeled with basalmic and olive oil. A very fine meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Photo by Noahwilde
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I really Enjoyed this. Only difference Was i added some Dijon mustard to each Tenderloin and cooked every this the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noahwilde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was amazing. Like others, we found it needed a bit more cream for the sauce and we only used 3 shallots. The sauce was more of a topping, but paired perfectly with the beef. Added some buttered carrots, asparagus and Pinot Noir. It was even better than most restaurant steaks I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
A... W... E... S... O... M... E! I wasn't paying attention and burned the sauce the first time (that's what I get for multi-tasking), but I had some extra ingredients, so I tried again... it came out GREAT! In addition to the sauce I also wrapped the filets in (apple smoked) bacon. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit2bTD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This cream sauce was to die for, I did not drain the grease and added a tablespoon of flour to thicken it up slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States