Filet Mignon with Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very good. Next time I'll make a little more sauce to put on rice or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crolfe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was amazing. Like others, we found it needed a bit more cream for the sauce and we only used 3 shallots. The sauce was more of a topping, but paired perfectly with the beef. Added some buttered carrots, asparagus and Pinot Noir. It was even better than most restaurant steaks I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made this dish for company last night and ended up using double the half and half. I also made my sauce first and kept it warm under a heat lamp so I could visit with my friends and when ready grilled the steaks on the stove top grill, which really required no concentration. Served this with asparagus and thick sliced beefsteak tomatoes drizzeled with basalmic and olive oil. A very fine meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was ALMOST a 5/5. It had really good flavor. The half and half was not enough, ended up adding a total of 1/2 C. Also ended up adding sour cream to thicken and add a little tartness. Ended up being restaurant quality. Pairs beautifully with the steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made this for Valentine's Day and enjoyed it. I thought the butter and the bacon fat was just too much grease, so I drained the fat. I kept it in reserve in case I needed the flavor, but never used it. One day I may make this without draining the fat just to see how it compares. When I tasted the sauce before serving it, I wasn't sure about it. The tastes didn't seem to go together, but once I tried it with the steak, I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This recipe was fantastic! I used this recipe for the bacon cream sauce and it was phenomenal! Made the perfect Valentine's Day Dinner, paired my filets with lobster tails and viola. I didn't have shallots, used red onion instead, and added chopped garlic...Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This sauce was outstanding! It perfectly complimented the beef tenderloin and my family loved it! I substituted chopped pancetta for the bacon to use up some leftover pancetta and added more half-and-half to make the sauce creamier. We also added a steak rub to the tenderloin before grilling it. We'll definitely be making this recipe part of our Christmas tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This recipe was good. I didn't really care for it on my filet though. I ended up with a bunch of saude leftover and the next day I used it to make a bacon flavored Mornay sauce. This sauce made a great mac n' cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Prepared beef tenderloin for a crowd but followed the original 4 servings for this sauce because we never serve anything on filets other than the salt, pepper, and seasonings put on the meat before grilling. I was in the mood for something a little different and chose this, thinking I would be the only one interested in trying it. I was wrong and should have tripled this! Everyone that tried it wanted it and I had to promise there would be enough for everyone next time. I followed the recipe except I had used my shallots in another side dish and only had Vidalia in the pantry. This worked out perfect in our opinion and I wouldn't hesitate to make it the same again. This sauce is delicious and the bacon goes perfectly with the tenderloin. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Photo by Noahwilde
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I really Enjoyed this. Only difference Was i added some Dijon mustard to each Tenderloin and cooked every this the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noahwilde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States