Filet Mignon with Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I have to agree with Elizabeth32 - be sure to make your sauce first and keep it warm. I always let my meat "rest" before serving or slicing... but the way this recipe reads, the meat is resting for close on or over 15 minutes. Way too much for little tenderloins. A big roast, maybe, but not a small cut of meat. It will be cold, yech! I also think there is way too much fat in total. You can get the same flavour and creaminest without all the fat. You can even use 1% and just need to reduce the sauce. Or not use the fat from the bacon and use a heavier milk product... not need to use both... think of your arteries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I thought this cream sauce was exceptional. Made as written and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for posting such a delicious recipe. Can't wait to make it for my friends and family. I have no doubt that they will love it also!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojofilini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Clair Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Absolutely LOVE this sauce! I make this all the time but usually double the sauce. I also use a couple more slices of Bacon than the recipe calls for and I always marinate the steaks. I've also used onion in place of the shallots before and it still turned out wonderful. Definitely need to simmer the sauce for much longer than 8 minutes in order for it to thicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This is a great recipe. Add a 1/4 cup of white or red wine and a 1/2 cup of sliced mushrooms to the sauce, stir until you get your desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Reading this recipe led me to feel that the imbalance of ingredients and the method of cooking would result in a blandness. I cooked it to the letter (disregarding of course the suggested temperature on a meat thermometer, learn to use the finger method for rare, medium rare/rare, and if you must medium rare) and it was as I expected, but edible. As most cooks already know,the tenderloin is an expensive cut of meat and yet not the most flavourful and does need perking, so I modified this recipe.. I cut my steaks two inches thick and to retain the juices I spring seared them on a very high heat in a grill pan ( I never use a barbeque for fine cuts) then plated them under a tent of foil to allow them to continue cooking to a medium rare/rare. I omitted the butter and used a little raw sugar to quickly help to caramelize the shallots and used prosciutto crudo and mingled it with the shallots quickly (30 seconds) and then stirred in some creme fraiche. Much better for flavour and structure. After plating, this can be flambed if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was very good, however, I advise cooking the bacon first, draining it and then crumbling it up before using it. Otherwise it is too greasy. I had to add salt to the sauce. Other than that, great recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I made this for my fiance and dad. We all agreed that the sauce was very bland, and I don't think it is worth the time. However, the filet cooked perfectly following this timing/turning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This has the potential to be a five-star recipe, but as written it is just too rich, rich, rich for our tastes. I only used two slices of bacon and it was still way too rich. I didn’t have shallots so I used green onions instead. I made the sauce in the afternoon and refrigerated it, reheating it while Hubs was grilling the filets. The bacon grease didn’t want to stay incorporated and kept separating out. I definitely plan to make this again, but I will drain off most, if not all of the bacon grease. It will still be rich and just a small amount is needed for each steak. I garnished this with green onion tops and a few bacon pieces that I had reserved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This cream sauce was to die for, I did not drain the grease and added a tablespoon of flour to thicken it up slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
A... W... E... S... O... M... E! I wasn't paying attention and burned the sauce the first time (that's what I get for multi-tasking), but I had some extra ingredients, so I tried again... it came out GREAT! In addition to the sauce I also wrapped the filets in (apple smoked) bacon. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit2bTD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States