Filet Mignon with Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
The sauce is amazing! I recommend adding a few quartered mushrooms and a little flour or corn starch to thicken it. This sauce will go with any steak. I used Rib Eyed and my family loved the meal. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
We went about this a little differently and embellished upon it as well, the result being beyond 5-star excellent. Hubs simply pan seared the steaks in a cast iron skillet in a combination of butter and olive oil, butterflying mine to guarantee it would cook to my preferred medium well, leaving his thick and luscious, cooked to a perfect medium rare. This time I did not want a charcoal flavor on the steaks. Since we used bacon-wrapped filets, I did not include bacon in the sauce. Once the filets were cooked and set aside to rest, I prepared the sauce in the same pan, removing most of the drippings. I added a little butter, maybe a tablespoon, and cooked one, just one, chopped shallot. Rather than half and half, I stirred in heavy cream and 1 T. whole grain mustard. Three minutes was more than adequate to thicken the sauce. In fact, I found I had to add a little cream just before serving to thin it out a tad. I plated this by spooning some of the sauce on the dinner plate, topped it with the filet, and then topped each filet with a few beautiful and exotic wild mushrooms. I served this with boiled new potatoes and steamed asparagus, scattering fresh chopped parsley over all. This was absolutely the finest dinner I've had in some time, either at home or out. Hubs said this was another one of those "make again" dinners he'll never see again, which is his highest form of compliment. It was not an inexpensive dinner but we enjoyed and savored every dollar of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
omg i made this for my carnivore of a husband on valentines day...it was unbelievably delicious!! I didn't have access to a grill, so I had to pan fry it, for quite a while because I like it well done. also didn't have shallots so I used garlic instead, and took another reviewer suggestion about adding some white wine and some mushrooms to the sauce. It was so freaking good! thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I prepared the sauce as directed. It was OK, but didn't taste like something that would compliment the filet mignon. It tasted a lot like scalloped potatoes. I had leftover filets, and before tossing the sauce, I decided to add some dijon mustard to it. It really improved the flavor and made it a much more appealing sauce for the leftover steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was very good. I halved the recipe because I only had two filets. Even though I halved it, I used more than a quarter cup of half and half. It still did not make a sauce. It was a "topping" and not a cream, but it was still a very good dinner that we all enjoyed. I cooked the bacon in the microwave first and then crumbled it into a saucepan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I am new to cooking- 2 questions: 1-- should I drain the bacon grease before adding more ingredients? 2 --I needed way more half and half is 2 tablespoons the correct amount for a serving of two?? I kept tweaking with more half and half and then it was great but hate to think of all the grease i was consuming. thanks for clarifying!! Andi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Made this for the first time tonight. I made additions from previous suggestions to increase the liquid. 1 & 1/2 cup of Half & Half. One large Yellow Sweet Onion in place of Shallots. My son brought home from college his local "home made" 1/4" medium cut smoked bacon (ready to eat). Not store bought! Purchased Market cut Boneless Rib Eye @ 1 1/2" thick cut. Omitted Olive oil. We literally tooth picked bacon slices around the steaks for the fun of it! I then chopped the entire onion. Chopped three slices bacon. Placed both at same time and cooked till onions soft. Siphoned off excess bacon fat. All else is followed as written. THIS IS AMAZING! Our new comfort food! We sided with it White Asparagus, grilled. Thank You for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I had really high hopes for this recipe based on the other reviews. But something didn't taste right. The sauce is really bland. After I made this dish, I came back and read more reviews. I think I might add mushrooms, sour cream, and garlic. Not bad, but not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Fantastic recipe!!! My husband and I absolutely loved it! I would agree that it needed more half and half. Also, I added garlic and mushrooms and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
AmAzInG! Made this the first time for a special Valentine's Day dinner - was a little nervous cuz I hadn't "tested" it before. OMG - So simple and easy, yet SO scrumptious! I had to consciously work on not groaning (the good kind) after each bite! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States