Filet Mignon with Bacon Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This is a great recipe. Add a 1/4 cup of white or red wine and a 1/2 cup of sliced mushrooms to the sauce, stir until you get your desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Reading this recipe led me to feel that the imbalance of ingredients and the method of cooking would result in a blandness. I cooked it to the letter (disregarding of course the suggested temperature on a meat thermometer, learn to use the finger method for rare, medium rare/rare, and if you must medium rare) and it was as I expected, but edible. As most cooks already know,the tenderloin is an expensive cut of meat and yet not the most flavourful and does need perking, so I modified this recipe.. I cut my steaks two inches thick and to retain the juices I spring seared them on a very high heat in a grill pan ( I never use a barbeque for fine cuts) then plated them under a tent of foil to allow them to continue cooking to a medium rare/rare. I omitted the butter and used a little raw sugar to quickly help to caramelize the shallots and used prosciutto crudo and mingled it with the shallots quickly (30 seconds) and then stirred in some creme fraiche. Much better for flavour and structure. After plating, this can be flambed if desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This was very good, however, I advise cooking the bacon first, draining it and then crumbling it up before using it. Otherwise it is too greasy. I had to add salt to the sauce. Other than that, great recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I made this for my fiance and dad. We all agreed that the sauce was very bland, and I don't think it is worth the time. However, the filet cooked perfectly following this timing/turning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awilson614

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This has the potential to be a five-star recipe, but as written it is just too rich, rich, rich for our tastes. I only used two slices of bacon and it was still way too rich. I didn’t have shallots so I used green onions instead. I made the sauce in the afternoon and refrigerated it, reheating it while Hubs was grilling the filets. The bacon grease didn’t want to stay incorporated and kept separating out. I definitely plan to make this again, but I will drain off most, if not all of the bacon grease. It will still be rich and just a small amount is needed for each steak. I garnished this with green onion tops and a few bacon pieces that I had reserved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This cream sauce was to die for, I did not drain the grease and added a tablespoon of flour to thicken it up slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
A... W... E... S... O... M... E! I wasn't paying attention and burned the sauce the first time (that's what I get for multi-tasking), but I had some extra ingredients, so I tried again... it came out GREAT! In addition to the sauce I also wrapped the filets in (apple smoked) bacon. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit2bTD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very good. Next time I'll make a little more sauce to put on rice or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crolfe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was amazing. Like others, we found it needed a bit more cream for the sauce and we only used 3 shallots. The sauce was more of a topping, but paired perfectly with the beef. Added some buttered carrots, asparagus and Pinot Noir. It was even better than most restaurant steaks I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I made this dish for company last night and ended up using double the half and half. I also made my sauce first and kept it warm under a heat lamp so I could visit with my friends and when ready grilled the steaks on the stove top grill, which really required no concentration. Served this with asparagus and thick sliced beefsteak tomatoes drizzeled with basalmic and olive oil. A very fine meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Yet Romantic Filet Mignon

All you need are a few minutes to make perfect bacon-wrapped filet mignon.

Filet Mignon with Rich Balsamic Glaze

See how to make an impressive steak dinner for two that's also quick and easy!

Bacon Pancakes with Maple-Peanut Butter Sauce

Bacon is built right into these pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States