Fijian Dhal Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
My husband and I love Indian dishes and thought this soup was wonderful. Im not the most experienced chef and I couldn't even screw it up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This came out perfect. I added frozen peas and warm nan for dipping. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
My husband and I love Indian food, so I thought I would give this recipe a try. I took one bite of it and knew my husband would love it. I handed him the bowl and as he took a bite, his eyes just rolled in the back of his head as if he were in an overwhelming state of palatable pleasure. If you like curry, then give this one a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Truly simple to make but you must be a curry lover - if you don't like curry - forget this dish. The only problem I had was the amt. of salt-I used half the suggested amt and it was too much for us. I find that if you are using bouillion cubes you can probably pass on the salt since bouillion cubes are very salty. Anyway, I thought this dish was ruined with the saltiness. I knew I could try and add some raw sliced potatoes and cook them for 15 min. to absorb some of the salt but I wanted to see if there was something quicker. I went on the web to see how to fix this. Someone suggested adding lemon juice a bit at a time (you don't want the soup to taste like lemon now!). Sure enough it worked - never tasted the lemon and it corrected the saltiness. In this instance, if you had tasted some lemon in this soup it would have worked. Hope this tip helps my fellow chefs out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I've been looking for a recipe that was similar to a Dhal soup in a local restaurant and I think I've found it! This was delicious and loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Great tasting soup! I omitted the bouillon and the salt. By pureeing only part of the soup, I was able to enjoy some chunks of vegetables. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I'm glad I tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I followed the receipe exactly except I did not add fenugreek as it was not available. Really delicious, hearty soup. It was very easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This recipe turned out beautifully. I actually made mine in my slow cooker, so apart from sauteing the onions and garlic, I basically just dumped everything in, set it on high and about 4 hours later it was done. I like my food on the spicier side than most so I still needed to add hot sauce to my finished soup. If I make it again I will add more chili flakes or cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Good soup, especially for lentil lovers, but even if your not. Skipped the fungreek, don't like, and the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Very nice and warming on a cold winter day, but not really traditional Fijian dhal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliette, London, UK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juliette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

How to Make Easy French Onion Soup

See how to make French onion soup the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States