Figs with Goat Cheese, Pecans and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2001
Excellent. I'd make this again. It's quick, easy, and a nice change of pace from the regular appetizers. Best of all, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
this is a unique appetizer and everyone loved it. I accidently got dates instead but they were very good. I 'd make it again because it tastes different - sweet and salty at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
I made this using fresh cream cheese instead of the goat. It was wonderful, i want to make for holiday party and already secured an online source for fresh figs. Do not hesitate to try this, you will be pleased
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I didn't like this as much as the other fig recipe I tried tonight. Too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I used dates instead of figs to make these and served them at a recent party. My friends are still talking about them! I'm not sure if it was just my oven, but I did have to broil them for 10-15 minutes to get the bacon nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I made these this summer for a group of guests who raved about them. They were simple to make, it only took a couple of minutes to assemble a dozen or so. Then I popped them under the broiler for a few minutes and they were done! Very easy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
My sister-in-law said that they were the most exquiste thing that has ever touched her lips. Excellent recipe. I prepared them the night before and zapped them under the broiler right when the family came. So easy, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Deeeeelicious. My neighbor gave us fresh figs off his tree and I searched All Recipes to find a recipe to use them. I struck gold with this!! I read all the reviews and decided to try 2 versions. 1 with just goat cheese, the other with a combo goat/ricotta. Stick with just goat! The best. Also I REALLY struggled with cooking the bacon all the way through without demolishing the figs in the cooking process. So I tried pre-cooking the bacon in the micro first, but when wrapped around the figs and broiled the bacon ended up burning. The best solution was to just make a little pile of proscuitto on top of the figs!! No wrapping, no toothpicks, lower fat and not greasy, but very similar taste! I can't wait until next year's fig crop is ripe... and neither can my neighbor! He loved 'em as much as we did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was just o.k. I absolutely love goat cheese and had higher expectations. They just weren't that special. I did substitute proscuitto for the bacon as many others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was pretty good. I used dates- will try figs next time. I think I was expecting something a little more savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Strawberry Goat Cheese Bruschetta

A somewhat sweet, mostly savory, all delicious appetizer—or even dessert.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States