Figs with Goat Cheese, Pecans and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
could not wait for this..but I was soooo disappointed. Maybe the figs were not good...I also made the mistake of using a maple bacon which omitted the saltiness of it. Also took longer than 5 minutes under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent - I have smaller figs on my tree so I used a 1/4 piece of bacon per half fig and laid it on top of the fig instead of wrapping it. I also cooked the bacon slightly in frying pan ahead of time to reduce the broiler time and take some of the bacon grease out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Great in theory. I think my issue is my figs are really young and not that sweet. But they held up well. Got the bacon crisp by turning them over for an addition minute broiling . but great recipe, because I needed to do something with these figs. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
With a bumper crop of figs and a need for only so many jars of jam, this recipe was perfect! Not only was it delicious but so easy to make. I made a huge plate to bring to a casual cocktail party and they were devoured. The goat cheese and bacon played off nicely with the sweetness of the figs and the pecans gave it a really nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EILEENGB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I had to use dried figs, since I could not find fresh ones in my area. These are very rich and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Lambart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This was pretty good. I used dates- will try figs next time. I think I was expecting something a little more savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was just o.k. I absolutely love goat cheese and had higher expectations. They just weren't that special. I did substitute proscuitto for the bacon as many others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Deeeeelicious. My neighbor gave us fresh figs off his tree and I searched All Recipes to find a recipe to use them. I struck gold with this!! I read all the reviews and decided to try 2 versions. 1 with just goat cheese, the other with a combo goat/ricotta. Stick with just goat! The best. Also I REALLY struggled with cooking the bacon all the way through without demolishing the figs in the cooking process. So I tried pre-cooking the bacon in the micro first, but when wrapped around the figs and broiled the bacon ended up burning. The best solution was to just make a little pile of proscuitto on top of the figs!! No wrapping, no toothpicks, lower fat and not greasy, but very similar taste! I can't wait until next year's fig crop is ripe... and neither can my neighbor! He loved 'em as much as we did!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
My sister-in-law said that they were the most exquiste thing that has ever touched her lips. Excellent recipe. I prepared them the night before and zapped them under the broiler right when the family came. So easy, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I made these this summer for a group of guests who raved about them. They were simple to make, it only took a couple of minutes to assemble a dozen or so. Then I popped them under the broiler for a few minutes and they were done! Very easy, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States