Figs with Goat Cheese, Pecans and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by maureend
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These were delicious!! I made only two small changes: as others suggested, I precooked the bacon a bit, and, because I didn't have any pecans, I substituted chopped cashews. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
These were wonderful. I followed the recipe exactly, using another reviewers suggestion and lightly frying bacon. The only change I made was to top with a little fresh cracked black pepper before broiling. I served these with a nice bottle of Tempranillo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LanieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eudora, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Delicious! I tried this recipe with both dried figs and dates- the dates were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was such a nice way to prepare figs! I'd never thought of making a savory dish with them. I can't wait to make them for my in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This recipe is great with dried dates. I made it last Spring before figs were in season. But last week I tried it with figs and it was a disappointment. In fact we each ate one and threw the rest out. So great concept but dates work so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Great appetizer. I changed it a bit, I excluded the pecans (just because they were not on hand) and used prosciutto instead of bacon. The prosciutto is already cured so you don't have to worry about it cooking through and it crisps up quickly. I broilled them for 5 minutes and then flipped them and broilled for another 3-4 minutes. Thanks for the recipe, it was a hit at the party I went to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
It taste really good but not very pretty. Maybe if I precook the bacon some it would turn out better. I had to cook it for forever it seemed before the bacon was cooked. I even had to turn them over which caused the cheese to leak out even more. Half of the cheese came out because I had to broil it for so long. Thanks for the recipe though. It overall did taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
could not wait for this..but I was soooo disappointed. Maybe the figs were not good...I also made the mistake of using a maple bacon which omitted the saltiness of it. Also took longer than 5 minutes under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Excellent - I have smaller figs on my tree so I used a 1/4 piece of bacon per half fig and laid it on top of the fig instead of wrapping it. I also cooked the bacon slightly in frying pan ahead of time to reduce the broiler time and take some of the bacon grease out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Great in theory. I think my issue is my figs are really young and not that sweet. But they held up well. Got the bacon crisp by turning them over for an addition minute broiling . but great recipe, because I needed to do something with these figs. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRIENNE27

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Strawberry Goat Cheese Bruschetta

A somewhat sweet, mostly savory, all delicious appetizer—or even dessert.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States