Figs with Goat Cheese, Pecans and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Am I the only one who noticed that the numbers don't add up on this recipe? 6 figs, halved = 12 fig halves 3 slices of bacon, cut in half = 6 pieces of bacon So - which one is correct? Should I cut the figs to 3 or increase the bacon to 6 slices?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Amazing! I used dried figs and omitted the pecans since I didn't have any one hand. Also, based on some of the other reviews, I fried the bacon for a few minutes first before wrapping. Turned out fantastic and elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
OH MY this was sooooo good and easy! VERY RICH. I used Gorgonzola instead of goat cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Very rich and yummy. However, I cut the bacon in thirds rather than half the slices. I don't if my figs are just smaller than most or what. But next time I may try using a whole fig since the taste of the fig and cheese got a bit lost. Still a great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Wonderful for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These are excellent - you can experiment with other cheeses as well. We had these at the Cheesecake Factory (one of their new small plate appetizers) and fell in LOVE so I had to find a recipe. They make theirs with parmesan but I think the goat cheese is even better for more contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I wasn't sure if I would like this but my neighbour gave me some figs from her tree so I came and looked for a recipe here. This one sounded good so I gave it a try and we LOVED THEM! The changes I made were as follows - my figs were VERY ripe, and I think that really helped with the sweet flavor. I used goat cheese as in the recipe, but I used proscutto instead of bacon. It was cut very thin and I wrapped one piece one way and then another piece the opposite way making a little bundle. It didn't take very long to broil this way as there was no bacon to cook. I also should have toasted my pecans a bit more as they got a little soft in the recipe, but still delicious. Two thumbs up from my whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I was really disappointed with this recipe. It was just bland, I even added balsamic vinegar trying to get some flavor. Maybe the figs just weren't sweet enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I didn't care for it but my ex-husband did so I will try it again when I get more fresh figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristene Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
These were really good. I used pecan halves instead of chopping them. I did have to bake them on 450 for more like 15 minutes in order to fully cook the bacon. I think next time I will use less bacon or thinner slices, or give the prosciutto a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States