Figs with Goat Cheese, Pecans and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Amazing! I used dried figs and omitted the pecans since I didn't have any one hand. Also, based on some of the other reviews, I fried the bacon for a few minutes first before wrapping. Turned out fantastic and elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
OH MY this was sooooo good and easy! VERY RICH. I used Gorgonzola instead of goat cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Very rich and yummy. However, I cut the bacon in thirds rather than half the slices. I don't if my figs are just smaller than most or what. But next time I may try using a whole fig since the taste of the fig and cheese got a bit lost. Still a great appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAYLA207

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Wonderful for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
These are excellent - you can experiment with other cheeses as well. We had these at the Cheesecake Factory (one of their new small plate appetizers) and fell in LOVE so I had to find a recipe. They make theirs with parmesan but I think the goat cheese is even better for more contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I wasn't sure if I would like this but my neighbour gave me some figs from her tree so I came and looked for a recipe here. This one sounded good so I gave it a try and we LOVED THEM! The changes I made were as follows - my figs were VERY ripe, and I think that really helped with the sweet flavor. I used goat cheese as in the recipe, but I used proscutto instead of bacon. It was cut very thin and I wrapped one piece one way and then another piece the opposite way making a little bundle. It didn't take very long to broil this way as there was no bacon to cook. I also should have toasted my pecans a bit more as they got a little soft in the recipe, but still delicious. Two thumbs up from my whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I was really disappointed with this recipe. It was just bland, I even added balsamic vinegar trying to get some flavor. Maybe the figs just weren't sweet enough..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I didn't care for it but my ex-husband did so I will try it again when I get more fresh figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
These were really good. I used pecan halves instead of chopping them. I did have to bake them on 450 for more like 15 minutes in order to fully cook the bacon. I think next time I will use less bacon or thinner slices, or give the prosciutto a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I made this according to the recipe, and served as an appetizer at my parents' xmas eve gathering. It was well loved, esp by the low-carb audience. My young niece still asks me to make it whenever I see her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Strawberry Goat Cheese Bruschetta

A somewhat sweet, mostly savory, all delicious appetizer—or even dessert.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States