Figs and Toasted Almonds Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I brought this to a New Year's Eve party, and everyone loved it! I purchased dried whole figs since fresh figs are now out of season. It was great. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NATTYRO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Great! Would be a sweet, wonderful appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I made this along with a bunch of other dishes for a party, and this was, by far, the standout of the evening! The only adjustment I made to the recipe was simmering the figs, brown sugar, & vanilla in much more water than the two Tbsp. for about twenty minutes until it turned syrupy. Then I refrigerated this overnight before using on the cheese the next day, letting the figs really absorb the syrup and soften. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I only used half a wheel of cheese (camembert... because that what I had) but I made the full amount of syrup, upping the water to about 4 tbp. I made it a couple of hours ahead & let it sit, covered, on the stove until hubby came home. The almonds (I used slivered) got kinda soft & carmelized...I loved them! And the figs imparted such great flavor to teh simple syrup....be sure & make extra syrup! I served it w/ barely buttered, toasted french bread. Fabulous, easy recipe....thanks for sharing Casandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
YUM! This is the first time I've cooked with figs, and it was a great introduction. I will be celebrating National Fig Week (Nov 1-7) with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Delicious and a hit at the party. I could not get fresh figs, used 1/2 pkg of dried about 8-12, increased the water to 4T and the vanilla to 1t. Cooked the figs longer to soften. Next time I'll try soaking the figs overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and my family went crazy for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
We have a fig tree that is really producing this year. After reading this recipe, I decided to try it. My husband and I both loved it! I'm not that crazy about figs but this was wonderful. I did take other advice and make more syrup. Can't wait to make this again for friends! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
We thought this was delicious. It was a great dinner - green salad, this, and French bread. Mmmm. A few thoughts - if your figs are very ripe, you don't need 10 minutes to soften them. Whole, toasted almonds are divine in this. And if you peel the rind off your cheese, it becomes a gooey dip. Next time we'll leave the rind on so it stays a bit more in its' original form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States