Figs and Toasted Almonds Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I made this along with a bunch of other dishes for a party, and this was, by far, the standout of the evening! The only adjustment I made to the recipe was simmering the figs, brown sugar, & vanilla in much more water than the two Tbsp. for about twenty minutes until it turned syrupy. Then I refrigerated this overnight before using on the cheese the next day, letting the figs really absorb the syrup and soften. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I brought this to a New Year's Eve party, and everyone loved it! I purchased dried whole figs since fresh figs are now out of season. It was great. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
i'm a novice at baking brie but this recipe looked so nice i had to give it a try. my local markets only had canned or dried figs so i went with the canned california variety & used the syrup (instead of water) as recommended. my brie wheel only weighed 7 oz. which ended up being the perfect size for the two of us as this was part of our christmas brunch. overall the flavor was pretty good spread over water crackers. i followed another reviewer's suggestion of serving sliced pears with this recipe. i thought the pears somewhat complimented the dish however my boyfriend didn't & felt their taste clashed with the figs. thanks casandra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I used a fig jam instead of the fresh figs. Unfortunatley the jam wasn't too tasty but the cheese and nuts combined were lovely. Next time I will either use the fresh figs or a jam which I know I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This was a GREAT combo. I have a large fig bush and wanted a few recipes to use up some of the figs. My friends really enjoyed this. It would even be perfect at the holidays. I left the fig sauce to thicken in the pan and ate it with toasted bread. MMM MMM good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This is fabuluous! I needed to use the figs from our tree and this was perfect! Didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I have made this several times now and it is just wonderful. As a timesaver, I purchased fig jam from Williams-Sonoma and put this on top of the brie (rind removed throughout). Also, try it with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
* * WONDERFUL * * I served it for a group of 12 people and it went down very well. The combination of flavors is fantastic. I couldn't get fresh figs, so I used the "semi-dry" ones that come in packets in the dried-fruit section of the grocery store. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Tasted wonderful, was very easy to make and had nice presentation. Served this appetizer at a wine appreciation party and it was a huge hit! Many suggested this become my "signature dish" for future parties and I couldn't agree more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is an excellent recipe! I used a 20 oz. baby brie. I also cut the figs into eigths. I kept the almonds whole, but toasted them in the oven for about 15 minutes. Finally, instead of water crackers, I served the cheese with french bread. The result was visually gorgeous and tasted wonderful. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States