Figs and Toasted Almonds Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Celeste Taylor
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This recipe was very easy to make and delicious as well. Everyone loved it. I can see it becoming a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I tried the recipe last night - I used a jar of fig conserve (about 4 oz) that had orange rind in it, toasted sliced almonds in a fry pan on top of the stove until just brown, put the conserve in to melt it, and then poured it on top of the brie. It was perfect and everyone loved it, especially my husband. I served it with water crackers, but did not like the combination - next time I will use something wholegrain. We served another, slightly tart appetizer with it to cut some of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Absolutely amazing can't wait to make it again. As I am strictly dieting reduced the sugar to half the quantity and still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Delicious way to make use of figs, which are often underrated. I didn't change a thing and enjoyed this mouth-watering combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I had it as an appetizerand a desert, either is a hit. To keep the calories down I substitute sugar to canderel, and if in a hurry use a microwave. Just make sure to watch the cheese not to melt too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia Drohan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Make it a few times- AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
My husband was a bit leery, not a fruit person, but I made this and we both loved it. I used about ten figs thinly sliced, same amount of sugar, and rest of ingredients. I wouldn't want it any sweeter than it was. He just planted a fig tree for me, so it will be awhile before we can harvest any, my mom gets them from a neighbor. This is my first recipe and will need to collect more. Thanks Casandra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Wow, this was delicious and so easy! No fresh figs to be found at my grocery, either, so chopped up about 8 dried. Eventually added it to the sugar/water mixture on the stove along w/the vanilla as another reviewer suggested. Almost forgot about it, too. Thankfully, it didn't burn. Used about 3 TBSP water due to reviews but next time, I'll probably stick to the 2. Toasted a bunch of sliced almonds - didn't measure. Mixed in w/the rest, poured over my partially-peeled brie (went around the sides and somewhat scraped the top and bottom, but not thoroughly) and baked as directed. Served with water crackers and it was delicious. All the attendees at my girls night loved it. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Delicious. I recommend cutting all the rind off the top of the brie before pouring on the sauce. I used slivered almonds and chopped the figs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Wow, is this decadently rich and delicious! I used many more figs - probably 8 cut in small pieces and the half-cup brown sugar. Next time I'll use less sugar (probably 1/4 cup), as it was a bit too sweet for even my strong sweet tooth. I used almonds that I browned in some butter and added to the top. I ate it on French bread all by MYSELF - YES - I was totally decadent! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Grilled Brie Pear Sandwich

Take the grilled cheese sandwich to two, three levels above the next level.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States