Fig and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was delicious! I was looking for a new chicken recipe that I could eat during Passover (alas, no bread... or bread crumbs), and I found one! I did double the sauce before cooking, which was nice because it covered the chicken almost entirely in my smaller container, leaving just the top skin to brown a little. I also cut the rind off of the lemon and only used 5 chicken thighs. In my haste, I forgot to top it with salt and parsley before cooking, but it didn't need it! A scrumptious sauce with nice and tender chicken (50 minutes is just perfect). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Okay. My chicken turned out a little tough, but I porbably overcooked it. The sauce was a little tart? I also left the peels on the lemons and agree with another reviewer-- I think they'd have been better without the peel. Even though I really like lemon peel. Served this with couscous. I didn't not like it, I thought it was good, but it wasn't the best dish I've made from here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanesia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Great dish---I used boneless breast and the sauce was wonderful. I am going to try it with shrimp and scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I used 8 fresh mission figs instead of 1.5 lbs dried figs and they turned out great, if a little too sweet. I also used breasts instead of thighs, it turned out nice and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This recipe was great and very easy! I used legs and wings instead of thighs and it was very good. I think the number of figs was a little on the high side and if I were to make it again I would probably use half of what this recipe calls for. Further, I will cut them in half so that they lend more flavor to the sauce and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I tried this recipe twice, with very different results! The first time I used chicken breasts, and our friends were late so I left the chicken in the oven for an extra twenty minutes or so... I turned the temperature down and covered it. The chicken was dried out, of course, but the sauce was fabulous! It had thickened into a sweet-sour glaze and the lemons were practically candied. The next time I cut the time short and covered the chicken to keep it moist, only to find the sauce had not properly cooked! It was vinegary and runny, although the chicken was moist. The first sauce is now legendary in our family, so I will try again, probably with chicken thighs this time, leaving the skins on, and cooking it for the full length of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This had a unique taste to it, using thighs instead of breasts definately made this worth-while to make but, for my family, it wasn't saucey enough... the next day I ended up pureeing 3/4th of the figs in a blender with salt to taste & chicken broth and then spreading it onto the leftovers (of which, unfortunately, there were plenty of).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This was very tasty, a nice contrast of sweet and tangy. I used dates instead of figs in error and it was still good. I also used chicken breasts instead of thighs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
Maybe I was clueless, but I cut the lemon into slices, leaving the peel on, since the recipe did not say to peel the lemon first. I think the sauce would have been very good, but the peel gave the sauce and chicken a very bitter taste. Make sure that you peel the lemon first before putting it into the pan! I did not have enough figs, so I used prunes as well, which I think would have been really good. I may try the recipe again sometime, with that major change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I used chicken breasts instead of chicken thighs, and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States