Fig and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I used chicken breasts instead of chicken thighs, and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
This chicken is just great!! I doubled the glaze mixture and came out perfect, I had to cover it with aluminium foil at the end of the cooking as it was getting too brown. I am Spanish and I cooked it for Spanish people who are quite reticent to "non-Mediterranean" food, they absolutely loved it. We served it with baked apples as a side-dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was delicious! I was looking for a new chicken recipe that I could eat during Passover (alas, no bread... or bread crumbs), and I found one! I did double the sauce before cooking, which was nice because it covered the chicken almost entirely in my smaller container, leaving just the top skin to brown a little. I also cut the rind off of the lemon and only used 5 chicken thighs. In my haste, I forgot to top it with salt and parsley before cooking, but it didn't need it! A scrumptious sauce with nice and tender chicken (50 minutes is just perfect). Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I LOVE this recipe. I'm not so sure that my husband and son like the actual figs (though I do!), but the sauce and the tart lemon and beautiful glaze are winners. I made a few changes from the quantities given. First, I used a whole free range chicken, cut into 8 pieces. The package of dried figs that I had was only 6 ounces, quite a difference from the 1 1/2 lbs listed in the recipe, but I sliced them into thirds and I had plenty of pieces to lay on the bottom of my pan. I think any more would have been too much. I used a large lemon, peeled, and cut into thin slices. For the liquid, I used another very large lemon's worth of juice, and then, because apparently I can't retain an ingredient list from the time I walk from my computer to the time I get to the kitchen, I misremembered the amount and types of sugar and put in not only a quarter cup of brown sugar, but a quarter cup of white sugar as well. Yeah, very sweet. However, since my lemon was huge I just added another 1/8 cup water to compensate. It was very good. I used cider vinegar instead of white. My chicken took about an hour to get to the color I wanted, and I did spoon juices over it, as well as spin the pieces up and over with tongs to re-cover with sauce, several times during the cooking. I served it with brown rice and collard greens. Thanks for the recipe. It's a nice change, easy and healthy (except maybe for the extra sugar I put in!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
absolutely delicious. I also substituted a turkey breast for chicken and cook it covered for the first 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2001
This was delicious. A great combination of flovours. I had to bake it longer then recommended in order to get a nice golden skin, but that might just be my oven. This is a wonderful change from an ordinary chicken dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
My husband and I thought it was great, and so easy to make. My kids were less than thrilled, but then they have never eaten figs. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
Ab-so-lutely wonderful! I will be using this recipe again very soon. Perfect for family or company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Wonderful flavor, crispy delicious skin, delightful sauce... I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Excellent recipe. The aroma that fills the house when this is cooking is wonderful !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States