Fig and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I made this with boneless, skinless chicken breast and only 6-7 dried figs. I tried reducing the juices on the stove before pouring it over the chicken and baking but it burned in the oven instead of forming a glaze. Husband said that the chicken was ok but that the lemon/fig combo made the house stink while it cooked...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by cookkassi
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I would have never thought to bake lemons and figs on chicken but it is a very nice combinations...sweet and sour. I also added fresh minced garlic. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookkassi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Fantastic. We used bone-in thighs with the skin. We didn't have any parsley so we substituted the dried parsley for dried Italian spice blend. The sauce, with its figs and lemons, was fantastic. My husband, who claims to not like figs, enjoyed this immensely. We removed the chicken from the roasting dish and then returned the sauce, figs and lemons to the oven to reduce. Don't peel the lemon if you do this, as the entire lemon is delicious and edible. This is something that we will definitely make again, probably for dinner guests. Simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Love it, love it, love it. This is one of my favorite recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This turned out really tender and juicy and very tasty. I used only about a cup of figs (its what I had on-hand) and I tripled the juice because we like lots of it. I will use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was good- I used fig puree instead of dried figs, which simmered nicely under the chicken. Could have more of a lemon flavor or something though- maybe something to offset the sweetness of the figs more. Served with couscous and spinach for a nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hayden's hoisin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Photo by NKTAUBE
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This dish is a cinch and it looks GORGEOUS when nicely browned and sizzling hot. The only thing I would do different next time is to cut the rinds off of the whole lemons that I add. It was a bit bitter b/c of them. I did follow the advice to cut the number of figs in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
My entire family loved this recipe (3 kids & their dad). I used the ingredients for 12 servings of sauce for 8 chicken thighs and I used fresh figs instead of dried. I also substituted balsamic vinegar for white and skipped the parsley. After the chicken was done, I pureed the defatted sauce and served sauce in a gravy boat. This is great with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. My husband had the sauce over some leftover roast turkey breast the next day and loved it! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Cooks in St. Pete

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Great flavors and light way to bake chicken, plus very juicy! I did change a little because I only cook for 2 - used 2 skinless breasts, but same amount vinegar mixture and lemon slices. i quartered 6 fresh figs and placed it all in glass loaf dish, 30mins @ ~375. Loved the rosy color the figs gave off and tart/sweet combo. thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
There was more than enough figs to go round. Next time I would halve the amount of figs as Im only making it for two people. Other than that a great tasting recipe. I used chicken thigh fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States