Fig and Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
It was delicious and my husband loved it. He said it was a perfect company dish!! I wasn't prepared to make this recipe; however, i had just purchased chicken thighs and had to cook them this evening. I did not have lemons in the house, so i used RealLemon juice. I was only preparing just over one pound of chicken. I used a 7 x 11 Pyrex pan. I cut into thirds & halves enough dried figs to cover the bottom of the pan. I also didn't have Parsely. But the results were very tasty. When i will make it for company, i will use chicken breasts, as well as freshly sliced lemons and parsely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
With a few slight changes and one addition, I really enjoyed this recipe. I live alone, so I only added four boneless thighs. I'm a saucy-kind-a-gal, and I knew the extra sauce for this dish would be just fine. I only used about eight California Mission dark figs, sliced length-wise into three, used only two small lemons, squeezed, and opted NOT to lay in lemons with the rind. And then for a twist, when the sauce was a bit cooler, I added two heaping teaspoons of sour cream, shook it up in a dressing jar, popped it in the microwave for maybe a minute and poured over the chicken which was laying on a bed of rice. Oh ya. Totally yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I believe the pith from the sliced lemons caused the sauce to become bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I would rate it a 5, except I modified the recipe. I love figs, but the quanity of figs to chicken was too much, so I used 1/2 amount prescribed. I doubled the sauce as others suggested and forgot the sugar and with all the figs releasing their sweetness into the sauce and so that's how I make this now. I used apple cider vinegar instead of white, and I think citrus vinegar (like from Trader Joe's) or balsamic would work just as well. Added seasoning -- I added fennel powder and seeds. The fennel melded perfectly, for my tastebuds, with the lemon and fig. Calories -- for those interested - Without the sugar and the way I made it -- and I may be wrong, but I calculate the calories to be about 238 per thigh including a portion of the figs. The lemon and all the fiber of the figs -- make this a really healthy dish with healthy natural sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Garcia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michround
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
So delicious. I also doubled the glaze. I used balsamic vinegar instead of white and I added goat cheese at the end as I plated. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michround

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Really good. I used fresh figs because that is what I had. Could use more salt. Once the chicken was cooked through, I poured the sauce into a saucepan and boiled it down to make thicker. I did not peel the lemons as some people suggested, and it was great. I served the chicken and sauce over rice. Will definitely make again since I have a tree covered in figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefjenna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Very creative recipe and quite easy. My family really liked it. Figs are very nutritious and high in fiber so I was eager to try it. I halved the recipe. Next time I may make a little more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Mine was WAY too lemon-y. I either used massive lemons which resulted in too much juice, or used extremely potent lemons! Next time I would use less lemon and add lots of honey to the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Hueneme, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Halved the recipe and omitted the actual lemon, having used bottled lemon juice. Great paired with some spinach and mushroom quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
this worked perfectly! The only change I made was to add a little moe sugar (1/3 cup) and I used balsamic vinegar, as that's what I had in the kitchen! superb taste, everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ida vB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States