Fig and Goat Cheese Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Used a ready-made pizza crust and fresh figs instead of dried. Outstanding recipe! I did reduce the fennel a tad because I don't care for it that much. Went great with a bottle of cab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This pizza was great! Unusual blend of flavors that we absolutely loved. Used premade crusts instead of making our own, but it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was delicious! Great onion mixture with thyme and fennel. I took one reviewer's advice and put the goat cheese first. I couldn't finish it all and it has been good for days after. I also used the Whole Foods brand 365 Whole Wheat Pizza Crust - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
I made this fantastic recipe on the BBQ grill, and everyone loved it. Just roll out the dough into 2 circles, grill dough on medium about 5 minutes or until browned (lid down), take off grill with tongs, add the toppings (I mashed the goat cheese with olive oil and spread on the crust), put back on the grill, cover, and bake until the bottom is browned and the toppings are warmed. A 10-15 minute entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I loved this recipe! I made it on sliced baguettes instead of pizza crust and it was a huge success. Everyone at my party loved them and they were gone in an instant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Note from the recipe writer: This is meant to be a dry cocktail pizza. However, if you prefer a wetter one, try mixing a bit of ricotta cheese with olive oil, then spread on crust before adding the other indredients. It's very good and a bit mellower than the original. I'm giving 5 stars to the amended version--it's my friend Lori's innovation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This makes a regular appearance anywhere I go. I simplify it by using store-bought dough. I mix some of the cheese with a little fig (or sometimes rasp/cranberry)preserves to moisten it a bit and then add figs generously on top. Skip everything else. Super simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I used flat bread for the crust - which worked wonderfully! Plus, I added basil leaves and covered them with the cheese. Delicious! Figs are an inexpensive alternative to sun-dried tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Great gourmet flavor pairing. I made mine into a main course pizza by adding some plain tomato sauce, with tomato paste, garlic and a pinch of sugar, and adding a light sprinkling of mozzarella before layering the fresh fig slices, goat cheese, and red onions. The fennel added something special, although this flavor is not for everyone (boyfriend didn't like the fennel, but said it would be great without it). As for the pizza dough, I cannot rate, because the boyfriend made his own special dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Delicious! I used the Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough I found on the website for the dough instead of the dough given in the recipe to keep the fat & calories down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Goat Cheese Tartine

See how to make a warm tartine with goat cheese and fresh peaches.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States