Fig and Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Holy, WOW. I didn't have any dates, so I used all dried figs. WOW. The combination of butter and figs makes for such a complex and beautiful aroma and flavor! Originally, I searched for a recipe to use up the "boring" dried figs I'd purchased from Costco, and WOW, what an amazing outcome! My bread was so moist and tender and so amazingly delicious just after 15 minutes of cooling; I imagine that once the bread has cooled and flavors have melded, this will be even more amazing. WOW. Thank you for this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This recipe was just ok. I didn't have figs so I used all dates. The bread was not very sweet and the flavor of baking soda was detectable. If I were to try it again, I'd add golden raisins and some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Yummy bread. I substituted rolled oats for the whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by olive tree
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I created an account on allrecipes just to rate and review this recipe. It is outstanding. I go through phases with baking, and so, I've tried a lot of the quick breads (banana/nut, beer bread). This is my favorite by far. I didn't have eggs in the kitchen when I made this, so I substituted walnut oil, water, and a little ground flax seed for good measure. It was a forgiving recipe, and the bread was fantastic out of the oven and the next day. I particularly like my slices spread with mascarpone and fig jam. It is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Sorry, didn't care for this much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Instead of half white, half wheat flour, I used all King Arthur's White Whole Wheat. I had cooked the figs with a bit of water then pureed them in the the food processor. I only had a handful of dates, so I chopped them up and threw them in. I didn't have enough figs, so added applesauce to make up the remainder of the two cups of fruit. The loaf needed a little extra baking time due to the extra moisture. It came out a beautiful dark brown. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Was told by my parents that this was "outstanding ". Made 2 loaves and gave to my dad for his birthday. I did not change a thing. The bread was dense and dark and the smell was amazing as it baked. My dad is a huge fan of figs and dates so I knew he would love this and he did. Thanks for a great recipe that I am sure would also be great with a little cream cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe! I used white raisins instead of dates and substituted 2 tbsp. of sugar with honey for added moisture. This bread tastes much better aged a few days. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DCANT
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
For those of you who are wondering how this bread will turn out all I can say is that it is a very dense bread (soooo good toasted with butter). The bread is moist and heavy. Now, I must mention that I added one large very ripe banana because I had to use some (they were going bad) and I figure it wouldn't hurt. I can't taste the banana in it so I think next time I will probably add 2 bananas instead. The bread tastes like a big bready fig newton cookie LOL! So if you are into figs and dates you will love this bread. It makes a great slice for tea or coffee or for breakfast. Other changes: I used all white flour because didn't have whole wheat and 1/2 cup of splenda for baking. It is a sweet bread (due to the dates I think) so if you are not into sweet stuff you can probably cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup or not add it at all. I also used mixed nuts (cashews, walnuts, almonds and pecans). Overall very good bread, thanks for the recipe!!!!! PS: It is more like an "adult type bread". My kids were not into it but they don't like figs or dates anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I use prunes instead of figs (just my preference). It makes a nice, moist loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States