Fig and Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
We really like this recipe, figs and dates are interchangeable depending on how much you have of each. I am repeatedly asked for this recipe. It's great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
I replaced the figs with dates and used the bread to make tea sandwiches for a bridal shower- thinly sliced and spread with 8oz cream cheese mixed with 1/2c chop walnuts and 1/2c chop raisins. So good I had to email the recipe to several people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
great bread- very fruity and easy to make. I substituted raisins for figs and it turne dout nice.we loved its flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I only had white flour in the house, so it wasn't as hearty as I had hoped. I also substituted almonds for walnuts. Next time I want to use the whole wheat flour because this was really close to fabulous. Quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Love dates; and don't mind (dried) figs, read all the helpful reviews, did a double batch and baked in 9"square pan. Did as recipe except I used pecans and soft brown sugar. Gorgeous bread, wonderful fruity sweetness (glad of little sugar usage). Good warm but better after total cool down, love it plain, or with butter or whipped cream/cream cheese. Better use finer chopped/sliced fruits & nuts, makes for neater cutting, else they tend to crumble. If prefer chunky or chewy dried dates then I'd boil them for 10-15 min to soften. Adaptable recipe, sub all dates or all figs or raisins or mixed, very good. Thanks much Corwynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Easy to make, delicious to taste but very rich. Thin slices are best with cream cheese to offset some of the richness. Keeps very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Lovely dark rich bread. I did not have whole wheat flour,and substituted King Arthur White Whole Wheat(a nice substitute for those who do not care for the heavy-hearty flavor and consistency of regular whole wheat.) It turned out beautifully. Perfect with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This a wonderfully moist bread. I had a gastric bypass 2 years ago and can't tolerate a lot of sweets. I make this with Splenda and it is divine! Thanks for the recipe. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Thought this bread was exceptional. Used all whole wheat flour and replaced sugar w/splenda. Fantastic with just a little butter. Will definitely make again. For some reason my bread baked in only 30 minutes, came out perfect, moist and firm. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This bread is very good, but I think it needs to sit a day or two. Right out of the oven, it tastes unremarkable, but not bad. A day or two later, I really enjoyed it. Not too sweet (a plus in my book), dark, and hearty. I like that it uses figs; where else do you see figs besides Newtons? Buy chopped, pitted dates and chopped figs. Pretty tedious to chop them yourself, and you end up coated in them! Or eating them all, like yours truly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States