Fig and Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
great bread- very fruity and easy to make. I substituted raisins for figs and it turne dout nice.we loved its flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
I replaced the figs with dates and used the bread to make tea sandwiches for a bridal shower- thinly sliced and spread with 8oz cream cheese mixed with 1/2c chop walnuts and 1/2c chop raisins. So good I had to email the recipe to several people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I only had white flour in the house, so it wasn't as hearty as I had hoped. I also substituted almonds for walnuts. Next time I want to use the whole wheat flour because this was really close to fabulous. Quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Easy to make, delicious to taste but very rich. Thin slices are best with cream cheese to offset some of the richness. Keeps very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
We really like this recipe, figs and dates are interchangeable depending on how much you have of each. I am repeatedly asked for this recipe. It's great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Lovely dark rich bread. I did not have whole wheat flour,and substituted King Arthur White Whole Wheat(a nice substitute for those who do not care for the heavy-hearty flavor and consistency of regular whole wheat.) It turned out beautifully. Perfect with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This bread is very good, but I think it needs to sit a day or two. Right out of the oven, it tastes unremarkable, but not bad. A day or two later, I really enjoyed it. Not too sweet (a plus in my book), dark, and hearty. I like that it uses figs; where else do you see figs besides Newtons? Buy chopped, pitted dates and chopped figs. Pretty tedious to chop them yourself, and you end up coated in them! Or eating them all, like yours truly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Love dates; and don't mind (dried) figs, read all the helpful reviews, did a double batch and baked in 9"square pan. Did as recipe except I used pecans and soft brown sugar. Gorgeous bread, wonderful fruity sweetness (glad of little sugar usage). Good warm but better after total cool down, love it plain, or with butter or whipped cream/cream cheese. Better use finer chopped/sliced fruits & nuts, makes for neater cutting, else they tend to crumble. If prefer chunky or chewy dried dates then I'd boil them for 10-15 min to soften. Adaptable recipe, sub all dates or all figs or raisins or mixed, very good. Thanks much Corwynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was great for using up the figs I had no Idea what to do with. The bread was very moist and the flavor was good. I suggest not leaving the nuts out because the flavor and texture would not be right without them. I substituted applesause for the sugar to make it healthier and it worked OK because dates and figs are very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Fabulous recipe, I love dates and figs. I like to add crystalized ginger to cream cheese. I think I will try steaming the bread next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States