Fig and Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I made this into three mini-loaves. They rose quite nicely (don't worry if the batter seems to fill only half of the pan). I didn't have figs, so I used golden raisins and very high quality dates (whole, chopped them myself). I also omitted the walnuts (personal preference). The texture is excellent! My friends are quite the epicureans and it is very difficult to find a loaf that appeals to them. This did it! A bit on the sweet side for them, so I will reduce the amount of sugar next time. It toasts very well and I really do think the whole wheat flour is key. I had considered using only all-purpose flour, but I always try to follow the recipe exactly the first time (yes, I know, I substituted raisins and made 3 mini-loaves instead of 1 large one). The dark color really makes it an attractive loaf. Excellent! Will definitely be adding this to my repertoire! Thank you so much! Other alternatives I plan to try: 1. Dates and dried apricots 2. Pre-chopped dates 3. Dates with figs!!! 4. Dates with date syrup (found in Middle Eastern and Whole Foods stores). Date syrup adds the dark, rich flavor without the sweet. 10 Mar 2006 Try this with dates, golden raisins, 1/4 c. thinly sliced crystallized ginger, 1/3 c sugar (since the ginger is sugared), 1/2 tsp clove essence and 1/2 tsp rum essence. If the dates are pre-chopped or generally drier, the resulting bread will be drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is a great old fashioned bread,the wheat flour gives it a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Fabulous recipe, I love dates and figs. I like to add crystalized ginger to cream cheese. I think I will try steaming the bread next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This was great for using up the figs I had no Idea what to do with. The bread was very moist and the flavor was good. I suggest not leaving the nuts out because the flavor and texture would not be right without them. I substituted applesause for the sugar to make it healthier and it worked OK because dates and figs are very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
Love dates; and don't mind (dried) figs, read all the helpful reviews, did a double batch and baked in 9"square pan. Did as recipe except I used pecans and soft brown sugar. Gorgeous bread, wonderful fruity sweetness (glad of little sugar usage). Good warm but better after total cool down, love it plain, or with butter or whipped cream/cream cheese. Better use finer chopped/sliced fruits & nuts, makes for neater cutting, else they tend to crumble. If prefer chunky or chewy dried dates then I'd boil them for 10-15 min to soften. Adaptable recipe, sub all dates or all figs or raisins or mixed, very good. Thanks much Corwynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
This bread is very good, but I think it needs to sit a day or two. Right out of the oven, it tastes unremarkable, but not bad. A day or two later, I really enjoyed it. Not too sweet (a plus in my book), dark, and hearty. I like that it uses figs; where else do you see figs besides Newtons? Buy chopped, pitted dates and chopped figs. Pretty tedious to chop them yourself, and you end up coated in them! Or eating them all, like yours truly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Lovely dark rich bread. I did not have whole wheat flour,and substituted King Arthur White Whole Wheat(a nice substitute for those who do not care for the heavy-hearty flavor and consistency of regular whole wheat.) It turned out beautifully. Perfect with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
We really like this recipe, figs and dates are interchangeable depending on how much you have of each. I am repeatedly asked for this recipe. It's great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
Easy to make, delicious to taste but very rich. Thin slices are best with cream cheese to offset some of the richness. Keeps very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I only had white flour in the house, so it wasn't as hearty as I had hoped. I also substituted almonds for walnuts. Next time I want to use the whole wheat flour because this was really close to fabulous. Quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States