Fig and Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I use prunes instead of figs (just my preference). It makes a nice, moist loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I made this bread for my son to take to school as a project for his history class and to my surprise the kids in his class loved it, they asked him if he could bring more but instead I printed up some copies of the recipe and he handed them out to his classmates. I am also planning on making this bread for my grandmothers birthday next week I'm sure she will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This bread is really good. It didn't take as long to bake in my oven so it came out a teeny bit overdone but it tastes great anyway. I threw some cinnamon in with the dates and next time I might try adding allspice as well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stphard212

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Really good bread! I used all dried figs instead of dates and added the zest of one lemon. To increase nutritional value I added 2TBS. of wheat germ and ground flax seeds. We have a huge fig tree and will be making this one again and again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This a wonderfully moist bread. I had a gastric bypass 2 years ago and can't tolerate a lot of sweets. I make this with Splenda and it is divine! Thanks for the recipe. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I thought this bread was excellent! Thank you for this recipe! I found it no trouble at all to chop the figs and dates myself. Piting a date is extremely easy. Plus doing these things yourself makes the bread much more flavorful. It'd the perfect bread for the upcoming holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BloodyMaryMorning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Very good bread. full of flavor and nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This bread is good, don't get me wrong, but I guess I had a somewhat romanticized idea of how this bread would taste. For as expensive as it is to make (and time consuming if you chop your dates and figs yourself, as I did), I don't think it's really worth it. I have other recipes for figs that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Thought this bread was exceptional. Used all whole wheat flour and replaced sugar w/splenda. Fantastic with just a little butter. Will definitely make again. For some reason my bread baked in only 30 minutes, came out perfect, moist and firm. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
i found this dry and bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States