Fig and Date Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This recipe was just ok. I didn't have figs so I used all dates. The bread was not very sweet and the flavor of baking soda was detectable. If I were to try it again, I'd add golden raisins and some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Yummy bread. I substituted rolled oats for the whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by olive tree
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I created an account on allrecipes just to rate and review this recipe. It is outstanding. I go through phases with baking, and so, I've tried a lot of the quick breads (banana/nut, beer bread). This is my favorite by far. I didn't have eggs in the kitchen when I made this, so I substituted walnut oil, water, and a little ground flax seed for good measure. It was a forgiving recipe, and the bread was fantastic out of the oven and the next day. I particularly like my slices spread with mascarpone and fig jam. It is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Sorry, didn't care for this much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Instead of half white, half wheat flour, I used all King Arthur's White Whole Wheat. I had cooked the figs with a bit of water then pureed them in the the food processor. I only had a handful of dates, so I chopped them up and threw them in. I didn't have enough figs, so added applesauce to make up the remainder of the two cups of fruit. The loaf needed a little extra baking time due to the extra moisture. It came out a beautiful dark brown. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Was told by my parents that this was "outstanding ". Made 2 loaves and gave to my dad for his birthday. I did not change a thing. The bread was dense and dark and the smell was amazing as it baked. My dad is a huge fan of figs and dates so I knew he would love this and he did. Thanks for a great recipe that I am sure would also be great with a little cream cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Excellent recipe! I used white raisins instead of dates and substituted 2 tbsp. of sugar with honey for added moisture. This bread tastes much better aged a few days. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DCANT
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
For those of you who are wondering how this bread will turn out all I can say is that it is a very dense bread (soooo good toasted with butter). The bread is moist and heavy. Now, I must mention that I added one large very ripe banana because I had to use some (they were going bad) and I figure it wouldn't hurt. I can't taste the banana in it so I think next time I will probably add 2 bananas instead. The bread tastes like a big bready fig newton cookie LOL! So if you are into figs and dates you will love this bread. It makes a great slice for tea or coffee or for breakfast. Other changes: I used all white flour because didn't have whole wheat and 1/2 cup of splenda for baking. It is a sweet bread (due to the dates I think) so if you are not into sweet stuff you can probably cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup or not add it at all. I also used mixed nuts (cashews, walnuts, almonds and pecans). Overall very good bread, thanks for the recipe!!!!! PS: It is more like an "adult type bread". My kids were not into it but they don't like figs or dates anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I use prunes instead of figs (just my preference). It makes a nice, moist loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I made this bread for my son to take to school as a project for his history class and to my surprise the kids in his class loved it, they asked him if he could bring more but instead I printed up some copies of the recipe and he handed them out to his classmates. I am also planning on making this bread for my grandmothers birthday next week I'm sure she will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States