Fig Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I checked on this at 45 minutes and it was done -- if I'd have left it longer it would have burnt. The figs did burn a bit where they were touching the pan. I only had 3/4 pound of figs and I found them to be a tad too sweet as it was [and I'm not usually one to complain about things being too sweet], but the cake itself was great. I guess I'm not a huge fan of figs, but I did like the muffin-y texture. My husband and mother both said it was good. I love spiced cake, so I doubled the cinnamon and cloves, and added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg as well. ////////// UPDATE Feb 2015: I tried again, this time using an immersion blender on the figs, subbing light sour cream for the buttermilk, using two whole eggs instead of just whites, and increasing the spices and leaving out the nuts like before. I've a new oven so this one baked perfectly in 50 minutes. I've decided that I definitely don't like figs. But the cake was still good enough that I had several slices. My husband and mother liked it as much as before. I think I'll try this modified recipe with a different dried fruit like cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Really good - several people asked me for the recipe or to make it again. I too put the figs in a food processor, and made the cake in a bundt pan, and then in mini bundt pans the second time around. make sure you grease and flour the pan really well, the cake will stick a bit otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I made this with fresh figs from my tree. 1lb 1 oz. and dident add any extra water. I dident have any buttermilk so sub'ed regular milk with a little bit of vinager. This cake was so incredibly moist it was barly a cake anymore. That being said everyone LOVED it. I brought half pan to my trainer and he ate the whole thing without sharing. Its not real pretty to look at. I supose you could add some purple food coloring. I am thinking about making some marscapone or goat cheese whip cream and reduced lemon drizzle to fancy it up a bit. I will repost when I have tried it. Heaven knows I have enough figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
So good!!! I made it for four people and we ate most of it within an hour. I substituted pecans for walnuts and per the advice of another reviewer, put the figs into the food processor instead of chopping them. I will be making this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
this cake tastes and smells delicious... I added some powdered sugar and buttermilk frosting on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I usually don't bother writing reviews, but this recipe is amazing. I substituted the buttermilk with my homemade yogurt and it turned out great. It is now my absolutely favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
very good recipe. although i love figs, i don't care for big chucks of them in the cake so i pureed them. cake turned out even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax Renegade

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Made this for a lunch time treat with tea for some freind and they all had seconds! I added a mashed banana and some random dried apricots and prunes to clear from cupboards and it was delicious. Without these the cake is fine and very moist. I made this to get rid of some dried figs I have had for ages but now I think Ill have to by some more figs and make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Moist and fluffy! Works well with fresh figs= 1lb. Added lemon zest for extra aroma. Nonfat yogurt can be substituted for butter milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is an excellent base recipe for some great fruit cakes. I actually made a recipe of bananas foster and coarse mashed half of the cooked bananas into the spice cake batter. the remaining sauce and bananas were used to glaze and top the cake. the results were outstanding!! definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pugnificent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States