Fig Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Yum! I used fresh figs and it turned out great. I put a vanilla glaze on it and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was great! The only thing I changed was to use pecans instead of walnuts and I chopped my dates a bit finer (next time I'll chop as finely as possible and maybe even use the pureed version that other reviewers mentioned.) I could see other fruits used in this but the figs are great. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
moist and delicious! i pureed the boiled figs as per others' suggestions. baked 35 min in a brownie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This cake is delicious! I didn't have buttermilk so I squeezed the juice of one orange into the 1/2 cup of milk and it was amazing! The house smelled sooo good while it was baking too. Will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Yum! I cut the recipe in half,except for the spices, and added a little nutmeg. Put the figs in the processor. Baked 20 min in an 8 inch glass baking dish. My daughter and I had some warm and it was great, but just as good for the next couple days. So moist:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I checked on this at 45 minutes and it was done -- if I'd have left it longer it would have burnt. The figs did burn a bit where they were touching the pan. I only had 3/4 pound of figs and I found them to be a tad too sweet as it was [and I'm not usually one to complain about things being too sweet], but the cake itself was great. I guess I'm not a huge fan of figs, but I did like the muffin-y texture. My husband and mother both said it was good. I love spiced cake, so I doubled the cinnamon and cloves, and added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Really good - several people asked me for the recipe or to make it again. I too put the figs in a food processor, and made the cake in a bundt pan, and then in mini bundt pans the second time around. make sure you grease and flour the pan really well, the cake will stick a bit otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I made this with fresh figs from my tree. 1lb 1 oz. and dident add any extra water. I dident have any buttermilk so sub'ed regular milk with a little bit of vinager. This cake was so incredibly moist it was barly a cake anymore. That being said everyone LOVED it. I brought half pan to my trainer and he ate the whole thing without sharing. Its not real pretty to look at. I supose you could add some purple food coloring. I am thinking about making some marscapone or goat cheese whip cream and reduced lemon drizzle to fancy it up a bit. I will repost when I have tried it. Heaven knows I have enough figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by threemore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
So good!!! I made it for four people and we ate most of it within an hour. I substituted pecans for walnuts and per the advice of another reviewer, put the figs into the food processor instead of chopping them. I will be making this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
this cake tastes and smells delicious... I added some powdered sugar and buttermilk frosting on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States