Fig Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I had a pound of dried figs that no one was eating in the pantry and wanted to make something sweet with them. I'm glad I picked this recipe because it made a perfect 5-star cake as written: moist but not mushy, flavorful but not overpowering, and the density was right on. The proportions are accurate, no need for adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
It also works well with fresh figs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina El-Gawish

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this without any changes in recipe at all. I did use a double walled sheetcake pan instead of tube pan, worried about scorching with fruit...It came out absolute perfect. We all loved it. Imagine would also be good with dates.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daylily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Excellent, moist cake. After making it once I decided to make a second, but discovered I was out of figs, so I used dates instead and doubled the spices. I preferred it with dates and more spice, but the original recipe is also fabulous, especially if you're a big fig fan. Even better with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Yum! I used fresh figs and it turned out great. I put a vanilla glaze on it and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was great! The only thing I changed was to use pecans instead of walnuts and I chopped my dates a bit finer (next time I'll chop as finely as possible and maybe even use the pureed version that other reviewers mentioned.) I could see other fruits used in this but the figs are great. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
moist and delicious! i pureed the boiled figs as per others' suggestions. baked 35 min in a brownie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This cake is delicious! I didn't have buttermilk so I squeezed the juice of one orange into the 1/2 cup of milk and it was amazing! The house smelled sooo good while it was baking too. Will definitely make this again! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Yum! I cut the recipe in half,except for the spices, and added a little nutmeg. Put the figs in the processor and left out the nuts. Baked 20 min in an 8 inch glass baking dish. My daughter and I had some warm and it was great, but just as good for the next couple days. So moist:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I checked on this at 45 minutes and it was done -- if I'd have left it longer it would have burnt. The figs did burn a bit where they were touching the pan. I only had 3/4 pound of figs and I found them to be a tad too sweet as it was [and I'm not usually one to complain about things being too sweet], but the cake itself was great. I guess I'm not a huge fan of figs, but I did like the muffin-y texture. My husband and mother both said it was good. I love spiced cake, so I doubled the cinnamon and cloves, and added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg as well. ////////// UPDATE Feb 2015: I tried again, this time using an immersion blender on the figs, subbing light sour cream for the buttermilk, using two whole eggs instead of just whites, and increasing the spices and leaving out the nuts like before. I've a new oven so this one baked perfectly in 50 minutes. I've decided that I definitely don't like figs. But the cake was still good enough that I had several slices. My husband and mother liked it as much as before. I think I'll try this modified recipe with a different dried fruit like cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States