Fig Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
We have an enormous fig tree in our yard and this recipe gives me a great way to use its fruit and all the frozen bananas we accumulate. So simple and the figs really make the smoothie creamy. My husband even loved it and he's not a fig fan. I'm going to try to freeze some of our figs so we can make this smoothie all year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Loved this! I had an abundance of figs this summer and froze them in zip lock bags. I was looking for a recipe that would utilize them and this is it! I used frozen figs and a fresh banana and non fat milk. I also made it again and added a serving of fat free greek vanilla yogurt, it was yummy and made it thicker, more like a shake. Thanks, this is a great way to use up my figs a few at a time and help me in my pre-holiday dieting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Actually I give 3,5 stars. I don`t know maybe it were my figs or orange juice, but this smoothie was very very sweet. This is the reason we didn`t enjoyed it so much. Great idea and figs go great with orange, but the sweeteness really overwhelmed here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe! Based on previous reviews, ingredients I had at home, and the fact that my figs weren't particularly sweet, I used 1 frozen banana instead of 2 (I don't like smoothies with too much banana flavor), 6 figs, 3/4 cup almond milk, 3/4 cup orange juice, 1/4 cup vanilla yogurt, and 1/4 cup of ice cubes (to add an extra frozen element, because I didn't use the 2 frozen bananas). It was great! It makes a great summer morning treat, and was a hit with my kids, who didn't like fresh figs before this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Surprisingly delicious, considering I do not like to eat raw figs. This smoothie tastes like it has berries in it. I really like it, and highly recommend it. Thanks Sam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Fabulous! I used some very ripe bananas, unsweetened soy milk and high pulp orange juice, and it came out wonderfully thick and had just the right level of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This smoothie gets points for being quick, easy, nutritious, and delicious! My family really enjoyed it. I made it dairy-free by using almond milk (son has a sensitivity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This was actually REALLY good! My ONLY complaint is not enough fig. I did 8 decent sized figs and still did not get much flavor from them. still tasted super good though (mainly of banana). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was very good - I cut it down to one serving using two figs. I didn't have orange juice on hand, but it would be perfect with this, so I did have to add a bit of honey for sweetness. I also added about 1/4 cup of non fat yogurt. Very tasty! Thanks, Sam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
The recipe is very similar to what we get at Tokyo Garden, a local Japanese restaurant. The restaurant serves this sprinkled with baby shrimp and garnished with a lemon wedge. I sometimes go easy on the ginger when I make this so that it is not too spicy for my son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States