Fig Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Amazing!!!! My neighbors fig tree grew over into our yard im so glad it did. Im not one for measuring so i over did it a bit on the figs and nuts (which to me only made it better). Instead of using the icing i substituted the caramel icing VI recipe from this site- fantastic addition!! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
THIS WAS AWESOME!! My family (the ones into figs anyway XD) LOVED IT! I only made the cake so this is about the cake only. We do't have allspice here in Egypt so I put in a mix of my own: Ground Cinnamon, Nutmeg, Cloves and Ginger about a teaspoon each and I used baking powder instead of baking soda, I used half a cup oil n half melted butter instead all oil. The cake came out moist n sooo tasty one thing I'd change is add more sugar next time, but if u're making the Icing then u're all set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninalicious
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I made this last night and was very pleasantly surprised. (the cake part only, as I didn't have the ingredients for the icing) This was a hit even with the kids, who aren't fans of spice cake. I used fresh figs. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This cake is absolutely wonderful! I had a lot of figs and decided to experiment - had never made nor eaten a fig cake. I chopped up some fresh, ripe figs instead of using canned figs and made it in a bundt pan. It is so moist that it would be just as good without the icing. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This is a review of the cake only (not the icing). I typically don't like things overly sweet, so the only change I made was to skip making the buttermilk icing. It was sweet enough without. It's a delicious, spicy, moist cake. I used home canned figs and it turned out wonderful. I used a bundt cake pan and had some trouble getting it out of the pan. Make sure you grease and flour the pan very thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sleepygirl
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delicious cake! Super moist. My mother in law makes homemade fig jam. so i used that for the fig base. I made it for my Dad's birthday. Everyone. Loved it. Do yourself and your family a favor and make this at least once!! Thanks for sharing the recipe. Yummy! If I had one suggestion, make it and let it soak up all the icing over night. Then enjoy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
delicious and my guests were pleasantly surprised,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janie Gausmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very good, moist cake - I made a few adjustments. Used 3/4 c. brown sugar and 3/4 c. Splenda in place of white sugar. Used 3/4 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. oil in place of 1 c. oil. Took a little longer to bake - almost 1-1/2 hours. Delicious - will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Yummy yummy and did I say Yummy??? This is exaclty what my mother made, such a delicious moist cake, not at all like the easy "cake box mixes" that we love and are guilty of serving our family! My hubby loved this, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rutledge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States