Fig Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ANDRONICKY
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Great cake. Made it as an upside down cake and it wowed the guests. Served it with whipped cream Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Really tasty, and a great way to use up my fresh figs. It freezes very well also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This cake was awesome! I have a fig tree and every year need to find things to make with figs, so a friend of mine and I gave this a try last night. We didn't make the icing. We tried it while it was pretty hot, so the flavors didn't immediately come through--- but by the third bite, we were hooked! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This cake is excellent. My kids and husband all loved this. I agree with other reviewers that the figs are not a big part of the flavor, more of a moist spice cake. I did not change anything except to leave out the pecans as my family are not fond of nuts in baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very good....very moist. I added about 2 1/2 cups of figs, and probably could have added a bit more flour, it is moist and very good. I think its a little sweet, though my figs were very sweet too....taking that in mind, I'd cut the sugar a bit next time...frosting was delish. Alot like caramel....very yummy overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
THE CAKE WAS WONDERFUL, A DENSE, MOIST, SPICE LIKE FLAVOR. I LIKED THE FROSTING, BUT THINK A CREAM CHEESE FROSTING WOULD WORK BETTER. THE CAKE IS SWEET AND THE CANDY LIKE TOPPING MADE IT A BIT TO SWEET. I THOUGHT THE SERVING SIZE FOR 18 WOULD BE TO MANY SLICES, BUT THIS CAKE IS RICH ENOUGH IT COULD SERVE 18 EASILY. EVERYONE REALLY ENJOYED THIS CAKE, AND THERE WERE FEW CRUMBS FOR OUR DOG TO LICK. I WOULD MAKE AGAIN , ALSO WOULD BE A NICE DESERT FOR A GROUP. I USED SOME FIGS OFF MY TREE, JUST NEED TO COOK SOME MORE UP NOW IN ANOTHER DISH. ENJOY THIS YUMMMY CAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HeatherB
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I used the cream cheese icing from a previous review and it turned out great! This is a delicious cake regardless of whether the person has a dislike of figs. You're sure to impress with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMARTYMADDYPANTS
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is the biggest win! I have suitably impressed my roommates, neighbours, colleagues and friends. Everyone LOVES this recipe. NOTE to anyone trying out the icing for the first time. I was not expecting the icing to foam before turning rich brown. My judgment told me to turn down the heat, but I trusted the thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe was excellent! I got many compliments, even from non fig lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
5 stars for the cake..the BEST spice cake I have ever had!!! I made a cream cheese frosting (2 c. powdered sugar, 1/4 c. butter, 8 oz. cream cheese, 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla) and it was absolutely the best cake. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States