Fig Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Love this moist yummy cake.?????? Used a bundt pan just because it reminds me of my mom when she baked with it. Bake time was the same. Iced it with a lemon butter icing. Delicious are the compliments I get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Great cake. Made it as an upside down cake and it wowed the guests. Served it with whipped cream Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Really tasty, and a great way to use up my fresh figs. It freezes very well also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This cake was awesome! I have a fig tree and every year need to find things to make with figs, so a friend of mine and I gave this a try last night. We didn't make the icing. We tried it while it was pretty hot, so the flavors didn't immediately come through--- but by the third bite, we were hooked! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This cake is excellent. My kids and husband all loved this. I agree with other reviewers that the figs are not a big part of the flavor, more of a moist spice cake. I did not change anything except to leave out the pecans as my family are not fond of nuts in baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very good....very moist. I added about 2 1/2 cups of figs, and probably could have added a bit more flour, it is moist and very good. I think its a little sweet, though my figs were very sweet too....taking that in mind, I'd cut the sugar a bit next time...frosting was delish. Alot like caramel....very yummy overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
THE CAKE WAS WONDERFUL, A DENSE, MOIST, SPICE LIKE FLAVOR. I LIKED THE FROSTING, BUT THINK A CREAM CHEESE FROSTING WOULD WORK BETTER. THE CAKE IS SWEET AND THE CANDY LIKE TOPPING MADE IT A BIT TO SWEET. I THOUGHT THE SERVING SIZE FOR 18 WOULD BE TO MANY SLICES, BUT THIS CAKE IS RICH ENOUGH IT COULD SERVE 18 EASILY. EVERYONE REALLY ENJOYED THIS CAKE, AND THERE WERE FEW CRUMBS FOR OUR DOG TO LICK. I WOULD MAKE AGAIN , ALSO WOULD BE A NICE DESERT FOR A GROUP. I USED SOME FIGS OFF MY TREE, JUST NEED TO COOK SOME MORE UP NOW IN ANOTHER DISH. ENJOY THIS YUMMMY CAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HeatherB
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I used the cream cheese icing from a previous review and it turned out great! This is a delicious cake regardless of whether the person has a dislike of figs. You're sure to impress with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMARTYMADDYPANTS
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is the biggest win! I have suitably impressed my roommates, neighbours, colleagues and friends. Everyone LOVES this recipe. NOTE to anyone trying out the icing for the first time. I was not expecting the icing to foam before turning rich brown. My judgment told me to turn down the heat, but I trusted the thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This recipe was excellent! I got many compliments, even from non fig lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States