Fig Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
I used 3 cups of fresh figs and only added about one-fourth cup of water to cook the filling. Mine turned out more like a cobbler than bars, but it had an excellent flavor. My husband loved it and the kids thought I had used apple (I didn't tell them any different!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
I am hoping this turns out okay. The recipe isn't clear. The amount of vanilla to be added is not listed. The amount of sugar to be added is not broken out for the filling and the dough. This recipe should have been edited properly before posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I doubled the cookie dough recipe, guessed at the vanilla, baked 15 minutes longer, still not enough dough for figs. Don't waste your time on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARYMAYBE
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This is going to be long but I have a lot to say..I read the reviews therefore very hesitant and with good reason, but all was not a loss. I knew going in i needed to make some changes. I have a fig tree so i have been looking for things to prepare with them. I used 3 cups fresh figs with 1 cup sugar and a pinch of cinnamon and allpice and 1/4 cup water and just simmered them for an hour 1/2. Meanwhile I put the dough together by directions and discovered that it was not dough at all more of a crumbly mixture so I added a TBS. of cream and 2 eggs, this produced and very sticky dough. I refrigerated it for an hour and then floured my board and kneeded it 5 or 6 times. when i rolled it out it was very soft and when i tried to pick it up it would fall apart so i floured my already greased disn and just spread it out, once the fig mixture was nice and thick and gooey i spooned it in and then i was ready for the top layer of dough, i finally was able to fold like a business letter and laid on top of figs got the first fold over nicely and then oh my goodness the other side fell apart so I patiently pieced it all together and pinched any cracks and into the oven. 1 hour and 15 minutes. let it cool and cut into bars..My son said they are better than the ones from the store. As a possible solution to the too soft dough, I am going to try only one egg next time and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYMAYBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This is a great dessert, i had no problems with it. I used 1tsp vanilla. The only changes i made after reading the reviews was... #1-added no water to the 3cups fresh figs, cooked on med low until thick paste. Did not kneed dough,sqeezed into 2 ball, then flattened to roll out on a lightly floured surface. When placed in dish dough was alittle larger, so after adding the fig paste, i laid the dough back over the figs, then added the top. I will be making this one again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I gave it 4 stars because I did not follow the recipe completely. I added more milk and an egg white to the breading mixture to make more of a dough. I then refrigerated it for an hour before rolling it out and pouring the fig mixture on half and placing the other half over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I gave this recipe one star because it is very hard to follow. It doesn't tell you how much vanilla you should use (I used 1 tsp) and the dough is very dry and there isn’t enough of it (I would double the dough if you are planning on making this recipe); I will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I wanted to give this recipe the benefit of the doubt, so I made it as directed. It is true, the dough needs a bit more milk-not really a big deal. When I took it from the fridge, it was too crumbly, so I added enough milk to make it workable. Transferring it to the pan was tricky-it does indeed fall apart on the way. I pieced it together for the bottom, then for the top layer, I simply folded itself over on itself a few times, transferred it and unfolded it. Beautiful and flawless. The finished product-wonderful taste and texture. We loved these. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmofaustin
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These are very yummy! I made them with fig preserves instead of fresh figs. I followed the recipe for the cookie dough but added another tablespoon of milk. I did not refrigerate it. It was a dry crumble so I spread half of it on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and then put a sheet on top and gentle rolled it out with a rolling pin. I then spread the fig preserves on top of the dough, then sprinkled the rest of the dough on top and with the parchment paper, gently rolled the dough out. As soon as it came out of the oven, I used a pizza cutter to trim the edges and cut into squares. These are very good cookies and do not require eggs because that would make something totally different. I will make these again with raspberry jam or apple filling next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Easy to make and downright delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States