Fifteen Minute Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I browned the chicken and then cooked everything in the crockpot on low all day. It was wonderful! I don't even really like beans, but I liked them in this recipe. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I read the recipe and reviews thouroughly before attempting this chili and I am glad I did. As stated it seemed bland, and some reviewers validated my assumption. I added one chopped onion to the chicken while sauteeing. I added garlic powder and some cayenne pepper along with the spices. I used a can of mexican style chili beans along with a can of black beans. I used a whole 14.5 ounce can of corn, as well as a whole 7 ounce can of diced green chilis. I brought the whole concoction to a boil, then reduced the heat and covered it, letting it simmer for about an hour. These changes made for a top-notch chili that was delicious served with corn bread. Not to mention, still healthy (although the mexican style chili beans added some sugar and salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Great flavor! I didn't have any green chiles or corn, but didn't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was so delicious! I'm not sure who could say it has no flavor because its very flavorful!! I did tweak it a bit. I added 1/2 of a chopped onion, 1 chopped green bell pepper, and a couple tablespoons of minced garlic to the chicken as it was cooking. I only bought 1 can of diced tomatoes so in place of the liquid needed from another can of diced tomatoes I added some V8 juice. I reduced the Cumin to 1 tablespoon and used about 1 teaspoon of Ceyenne Pepper. Topped off each bowl with a dollop of sour cream and some cheddar cheese. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Not a fan- maybe I did something wrong but I will not eat this again. It is bland and not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed this. All I did differently was saute a chopped onion and green pepper in with the chicken. My husband said it was "tasteless" but I think he's crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I gave it four stars for the idea and potential but prepared as written, it's lacking. I sauteed an onion and then shredded chicken breast from a rotisserie chicken and put it in the pan, then put in chili powder and stirred. Then the tomatoes, beans and corn were added in. I agree with others that it tastes so much better with simmering time. In the end, it was good and we could have a tasty meal during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TG
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was really good, and super easy! Since I don't like really spicy things, I might make this with a 1/2 can of chilis next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly except that I cut the cumin back a bit, since I'm not a fan of strong cumin flavour. I thought that this chili was just "okay." Nothing terrible, but nothing spectacular, either. I was a little bit surprised that it has a 5-star rating. In my opinion, regular chili (with ground meat and more simmering time) isn't that much harder to make, and the additional simmering time really makes for a better blend of flavours. If I were to modify this recipe to make it again for my family, I'd use ground chicken, add a few chopped vegetables at the beginning, and leave it to simmer at the end. The green chiles were a nice touch, though. I never think to use them in chili, but they were good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States