Fifteen Minute Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This is a delicious recipe! I followed some reviewers' advice and added more corn, and sauteed the chicken with minced garlic and diced onion. I also added some red pepper, reduced the cumin, didn't add the green chiles, and made my own diced tomato by chopping some organic tomatoes in the food processor. To make up for the lack of tomato juice, I added a bit of chicken broth. Wow was this easy and delicious! I let it simmer all afternoon and we had a delicious meal. My boyfriend is a major soup/chili fan and said this was the best chili he'd ever had. I love that it's super healthy - this is going in the normal rotation! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was the second time I made this and the second time was better. I did make changes from the last time. I cut back to 1 tsp of cumin, I substituted one 10 oz can of diced tomatoes and green chilies for 1 can of the diced tomatoes and the can of green chilies so that caused a reduction in liquid but I only added a little bit of water since I prefer thicker soups, and added a few shakes of garlic powder. We didn't need to add any additional salt to taste because I didn't use any no-salt-added canned goods. I also did not use any cayenne pepper. I shredded 30% fat free cheddar cheese to sprinkle on top and we enjoyed the chili with tortilla chips. I gave it 5 stars because my husband and I felt this recipe is a winner and one I will make over and over again. I also loved that it was so quick and easy to make after working all day and then taking a walk for 50 minutes. I will probably tweak it now and then depending on what I have on hand in the pantry and how much time I have. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I browned the chicken and then cooked everything in the crockpot on low all day. It was wonderful! I don't even really like beans, but I liked them in this recipe. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
I read the recipe and reviews thouroughly before attempting this chili and I am glad I did. As stated it seemed bland, and some reviewers validated my assumption. I added one chopped onion to the chicken while sauteeing. I added garlic powder and some cayenne pepper along with the spices. I used a can of mexican style chili beans along with a can of black beans. I used a whole 14.5 ounce can of corn, as well as a whole 7 ounce can of diced green chilis. I brought the whole concoction to a boil, then reduced the heat and covered it, letting it simmer for about an hour. These changes made for a top-notch chili that was delicious served with corn bread. Not to mention, still healthy (although the mexican style chili beans added some sugar and salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Great flavor! I didn't have any green chiles or corn, but didn't miss them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
This was so delicious! I'm not sure who could say it has no flavor because its very flavorful!! I did tweak it a bit. I added 1/2 of a chopped onion, 1 chopped green bell pepper, and a couple tablespoons of minced garlic to the chicken as it was cooking. I only bought 1 can of diced tomatoes so in place of the liquid needed from another can of diced tomatoes I added some V8 juice. I reduced the Cumin to 1 tablespoon and used about 1 teaspoon of Ceyenne Pepper. Topped off each bowl with a dollop of sour cream and some cheddar cheese. My husband loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Not a fan- maybe I did something wrong but I will not eat this again. It is bland and not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed this. All I did differently was saute a chopped onion and green pepper in with the chicken. My husband said it was "tasteless" but I think he's crazy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I gave it four stars for the idea and potential but prepared as written, it's lacking. I sauteed an onion and then shredded chicken breast from a rotisserie chicken and put it in the pan, then put in chili powder and stirred. Then the tomatoes, beans and corn were added in. I agree with others that it tastes so much better with simmering time. In the end, it was good and we could have a tasty meal during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TG
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was really good, and super easy! Since I don't like really spicy things, I might make this with a 1/2 can of chilis next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States