Fiesta Turkey Tavern Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I played around with this a bit since my kids don't care for jalapeno. I used 2 lbs turkey, same on the onion and garlic, , then filled the bottom of the pan with white cooking wine and added larger amounts of mustard, salt and pepper and then cooked it down until the liquid was mostly gone. I put it on a whole wheat hamburger bun with swiss cheese and it was great - my kids drowned it in ketchup but they still ate it! We actually fed 4 of us for 2 nights and had some left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made this recipe as written, using powdered chipotle seasoning in place of chili powder. My picky 10 yr old ate it in a tortilla, and my husband liked it on a bun with barbecue sauce. Overall a hit, and I will be adding this to our rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I made this last night for the first time, it was very good. I've tried various tavern recipes trying to find one we all like, my daughter will not eat anything with "barbeque" flavor. This one was it. I did make one minor change, my husband does not like jalapenos so I substituted 1/4 cup of salsa and added it with the water. It took a little longer for the liquid to evaporate but it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
A little on the dry side for my taste. It feels like it should have a thicker sauce to it. The fresh jalapeno gives it a great kick. And we ate it with some baby swiss cheese and spicy mayo - which I recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wautoma, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this exactly as written and just thought it was OK. To me it just tasted like spicy ground turkey, couldn't find any flavor besides that. I like the versatility and ease of the dish though. Thank you for sharing, I'm glad I tried it. It's something different which is always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
this was awesome! the whole family loved it, even my 3 year old! I did replace the jalapeno for red bell pepper since, the kids couldnt handle that much heat. LOVED how easy it was! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NomNomDelicious
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I'm the recipe's creator. To cut down on the amount of fat, make sure that you're using ground turkey breast or lean ground turkey meat. Regular ground turkey is about as fattening as regular ground beef! Thanks and hope that you enjoy! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is an incredibly good “tavern,” especially when you take into account it’s made with turkey and not beef. It has a nice seasoning and gets bonus points because it does not use ketchup. The tavern (a.k.a. loose meat sandwich) originated in the 1920s. It’s nothing more than browned ground beef that contains very little or even no seasoning what-so-ever. It caught on quickly with businesses because it was cheap, easy, and “one-sandwich-fits-all.” It was served on a bun and via a condiments bar, the customer could create their own sandwich by adding whatever toppings or sauces they desired. It could be turned into a traditional topped hamburger/cheeseburger, sloppy joe, etc. The only thing that’s changed with the modern day tavern is the number of ways it’s served. I’ve seen many organizations use these for fundraisers, giving the customer the choice of having it served on a bun, tortilla, hard shell taco, or even fry bread. The combinations are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I will add tomato sauce next time - but good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
We felt the mustard was too strong and the dish too hot overall. We will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Turkey and Yam Spicy Tacos

See how to make spicy turkey and yam filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States