Fiesta Tater Tot® Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tia24tx
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My kids and husband loved it. The only thing I did differently was used enchilada sauce instead of tomato sauce because it's what I had on hand. Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tia24tx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Family loved this! I used two packs of low sodium taco seasoning rather than one to add flavor. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made this recipe pretty much like directed. I added some white onions also into the hamburger as it was cooking. I added a can of corn, drained, into the soup mixture. I didn't brown the tator tots first, I just put soup mixture on top of frozen tots. I crushed some fritos on top of the melted cheese. Yum!!! Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Ok: I totally "get" this...a twist between Mexican nachos and typical tater tot hot dish. Made as directed and pretty good. My mind couldn't quite process the upside down (or reversed) baking of this casserole but it was good. I totally plan to try again with the following changes. 1) place beef on bottom per normal. 2) in place of your typical green beans (as the 2nd "layer" I will try...maybe a can of chili beans or black beans...we'll see what's in my pantry. 3) pour half the sauce over the meat/beans, layer tots and pour remaining sauce over all. Bake for the normal hour or so as I am used to but will still achieve the Mexican twist goal. Fun and worth a try. Thank you for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Awesome. I didnt season the meat seperatly (didnt see the point). I just poured the whole package of taco seasoning into the soup mix (plus a little more) Only used about 3/4 of the bag of tater tots. Will definatly repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This turned out great! I think it'll be a new favorite. Incredibly filling and delicious! My grocery store doesn't carry the condensed nacho cheese soup, so I used two individual cups of a 4-pk of Chi-chi's nacho cheese dip and a can of Contadina tomato sauce. I omitted the milk because we only had almond milk on-hand and that didn't sound too appealing for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Love this recipe! So good. I use a white onion instead of the green onion as my grocery store always seems out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Winner! Easy and tastes like a Mexican lazagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Hubby really liked. I didn't have nacho cheese soup on hand, so I used a cheddar cheese soup that I had instead. I also added a can of chopped green chilis and black olives. Pretty good, may become a regular item for our dinner menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This casserole was pretty good. I made it exactly as the recipe called for. I just felt like it was lacking something in flavor, I think next time I will add more taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States