Fiesta Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was very good, my whole family loved it! If you are going to use Uncle Bens "instant" brown rice, you will need more liquid and more cook time. Here is what I did to make 6 servings: Bring 1.5 cups U.B. Instant brown rice, 2 cups water, and 3/4 of the jar of picante to a boil. Then add the beans and corn, stir, cover, and cook on medium/low heat for 12 minutes, or until the water is absorbed. (I also doubled the corn to 1 cup). Great easy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Not bad. Could be better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Crunchy. Needed much more cook time and as a result it screwed up a meal:( All the quick cook rice at our large grocery call for longer cook times. I used Uncle Ben's instant brown rice which states 10 minutes. If I make a gain I will cook it for 10 minutes from the start and add more water. For those looking for Picante sauce it is where they sell the taco kits. Your store should have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Excellent dish! I used salsa as I couldn't find Picante sauce, and added shrimp as well. Made a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Very good and simple. I used salsa instead of picante cause that is what I had. The only issue I had was 1/4 cup water wasn't enough. The rice was still a bit crunchy so I added another 1/4 cup and put on low heat for about 3 minutes then off heat for another 5. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I used regular brown rice and for the last 10 min of cooking added the salsa, beans and corn. A tasty and healthy side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I was just looking to use what I had in the cupboards, Used regular brown rice, black beans frozen corn and didn't have Pace but had a jar of Newmwn's own Medium Pineapple Salsa... wow it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I just used salsa instead of picante sauce because they didn't have it at the grocery store. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
When I make a recipe for the first time, I always follow as it is written. I thought this was pretty good as written, hense giving it four stars. It was very easy to prepare! I did end up adding more salsa, and water, because I thought it was a little dry. Next time I plan on adding some cumin and a can of green chiles, as I think it still needed something. I did use the Medium Pace, and might use hot next time as my husband and I like things spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
We have been a huge fan of Pace® Picante Sauce for years. This was so easy and delicious. I left out the corn and beans and it was still great. Why oh why did I not think of this sooner? I can't imagine having to add other spices unless you're not using Pace® Picante Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States