Fiesta Fry Pan Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This was REALLY GOOD!! I did make some adjustments based on what I had in the house. I used a jar of salsa, added olives and precooked the rice (didn't use the instant) with some cinnamon, ginger and cumin. After cooking, I added the rice to the sauce and served sprinkled with cheese. SO YUMMY!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wow! Can you say B-L-A-N-D? I don't know if it's because I used turkey instead of ground beef but this meal had no flavor! And this is after I added garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. My boyfriend had to dice up a habonero pepper to give his flavor and I had to put extra salt on my meal twice. LOL! If I were to ever make this again, I think I would use salsa instead of the stewed tomatoes, add black olives, maybe add some chopped chili peppers... anything to give it flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I tried this recipe as written and while we found it to be somewhat bland we all agreed it had potential. The second time we made the recipe, we used a box of Spanish Quick Rice instead of plain instant rice, added a can of Ranch Style Beans, and "some" garlic powder. When I served this with sour cream, guacamole and a side of tortillas, the family was thrilled! It'll be on our repeat list for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I used hot/spicy taco seasoning and it was plenty seasoned. I used jasmine rice. Since I cooked my rice seperately I left out the water in the turkey and just added the cooked rice in the last 5 mins. I also cooked my zucchini seperate to get it fully cooked through. Everything complimented nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Really enjoyed this dinner! Made a few simple changes and came out great. Used Rotel tomatoes with green chilies to give a little kick. Didn't have zucchini, but added some sliced black olives instead. Did not have plain instant rice, so used a packet of Lipton Rice and Sauce Mexican Rice and only about 1/3 packet of taco seasoning. Came out just fine using the directions that were given! Sprinkled in a little ground ancho chili toward the end and topped with sour cream. My son absolutely loved it, and we're already working on other possible add-ins. Can see that it would be a bit bland without the chilies, but if you prefer a milder taste I'm sure it would be good as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe was OK. The taco seasoning gives it that Mexican flavor. I found and made this recipe because I was looking to use up my zucchini but I must say that I think the other reviewers are right in saying that it can be left out and beans would be better in its place. Nonetheless a great way to sneak in vegetables for picky kids or husbands. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Made this the other night and it was a good, quick dinner. I could not find my taco seasoning so I made my own with spices and it was good. Also, I sauteed the zucchini before I added the water, just to give it a little color. This was just for my fiance & I and it made PLENTY. We will have it for leftovers, wrapped in a tortilla with sour cream. I love easy, weeknight meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My entire family loved this! We couldn't use cheese on a portion due to my sons allergy and he loved it as much as we did. I did make a few modifications. I used 1/2 taco seasoning packet, seasoned with garlic and used 2/3 of a jar of salsa instead of the tomatoes. The kids love zucchini but even if they didn't you cannot taste it so it is a great way to sneak in the veggies!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I was looking for a way to once again, use up some of my zucchini. Didn't use the onion because I was out, but my kids don't like onion anyway. I used canned diced tomatoes instead of stewed. A couple of use put the mixture on tortillas and some of us just scooped it up on tortilla chips. Great either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was great. I used yellow squash instead of zucchini b'c that's what I had. Also, instead of instant rice I already had a bowl of leftover long-grain rice in the fridge so I just mixed that in. I put helpings of the mix into tortillas and rolled them up. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishPalate

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States