Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I make this all the time. People love it. It tastes like Summer. Please note that it calls for red BELL pepper. Too bad most can't find Jicama. It's there to add crunch, contrast of color and a bit of sweetness. I sometimes add just a handful of black beans to the salsa for color. Fresh corn cooked about 3-4 minutes in boiling water, not canned. People comment on the "beautiful salsa" every time. I don't use much cayenne since many can't handle hot. BUT, I take a base of sour cream, leftover cilantro, lime juice, salt, 1/2 a jalapeno, a little oil and chili powder and blend in blender. Not hot at all. Put it squirt bottle and guests can add to tacos if they like. OR take half that sauce for mild lovers and leave half to throw in a chipotle, more jalapeno, cayenne or whatever you think will be good for the spicy lovers. I also cook my fish (tilapia) on a cast iron griddle (flat side) on the grill. Get it good and hot and cook about 2-3 mins per side. Comes out with a slightly blackened crust with all the juices sealed in. I marinate the fish in just lime juice, olive oil and some chili powder. I use flour tortillas. They hold up well. I'm telling you, this is the way to go with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
661 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Excellent! ~ These tacos are sooo good. I can't wait to make 'em again. But, here's the only thing...the recipe for the spices makes waaaay too much. So, cut it at least in half (you'll still probably have too much left over). We reduced the amount of the red pepper as well and they were still too firey for our (spicy) taste. The salsa mixture is wonderful (although I couldn't finD jicama in our store). We didn't fnd the salsa dry at all because the sour cream adds a creamy taste. Toss the tortillas on the grill for a bit. YUM! This one's a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Delish! I blackened the corn in a skillet (no oil or water) and added diced avocado. This was so very good! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Not bad at all. Tilapia is great for people who aren't crazy about fish because it is so mild, you almost don't even know it's there. Because the salsa was a little bit bland, Husband topped the tacos with a little medium Pace salsa. Oh, I also learned an important lesson about corn tortillas tonight - when the recipe says to use two, you really do need to use two. I made the first taco with one, and it ended up disintegrating on to the counter... Good recipe though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
INCREDIBLE! Only changes were I cooked the corn tortillas in 2 Tablespoons oil to make them hold together, and that worked well. I also used Alaskan Halibut. We like spicy, and we were not dissapointed! I also cooked the corn as another member had suggested. As we would say when we haul in a nice Halibut, "It's a keeper!" I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This recipe was really full of flavor. Next time I will use 1/2 as much salt, but the rest was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I LOVE spicy food but this was way too much cayanne papper. I should have cut it back to about half of what is called for. I used canned corn nibblets but did not cook the corn first. BIG MISTAKE. The recipe doesnt tell you to cook the corn but I should have figured it out. Cook the Corn first! The salsa is the best part of the dish. Magnificent! But the fish is so-so. I couldnt find the jicama at the market. So I rated it 4 because of my own errors but I will make it again the right way and we will see....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I sprinkled the spices too liberally, my husband thought this way too hot. I loved it as is, but next time I'll make it a bit less hot. I did not use sour cream, but I had guacamole that I put on instead. I used flour tortillas because I like them better. There was plenty of corn salsa (no jicama could be found, I added a bit of tomato), so I am making this again tonight. I loved it, just be careful on the spices if others are spice-sensitive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Yum! Great light meal with lots of flavor. I didn't think I would like the corn salsa on it but that really made the entire taco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I was excited to get home and try this recipe. The seasoning for the fish was super. I didn't make the salsa so I can't comment on it but instead I filled up the tortilla with the fish, shredded lettuce, tomato and a spicy yogurt/sour cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States