Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Excellent! ~ These tacos are sooo good. I can't wait to make 'em again. But, here's the only thing...the recipe for the spices makes waaaay too much. So, cut it at least in half (you'll still probably have too much left over). We reduced the amount of the red pepper as well and they were still too firey for our (spicy) taste. The salsa mixture is wonderful (although I couldn't finD jicama in our store). We didn't fnd the salsa dry at all because the sour cream adds a creamy taste. Toss the tortillas on the grill for a bit. YUM! This one's a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
We LOVE these!! So easy to make- light and delicious. We use flour tortillas instead of corn. One of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
We fixed these tacos for a group of friends who gather at our house on Friday nights for fellowship and food. THEY WERE GREAT. Our friends were still raving about them on Sunday morning when we met for breakfast. We did follow some of the recommendations that suggested cutting back on the cayenne pepper for those who like less spicy food. We had the "hot" fish and the not so "hot" fish. We will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This is an excellent recipe. I made it with mahi-mahi. I processed the jicama, the onion, and the pepper in the food processor, which made the salsa nice and moist. It made a ton of the stuff...good thing we really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
we absolutely loved this! this was our first time having fish tacos, the corn salsa was delicious and zingy, the spices on the fish were a perfect not too spicy blend of goodness! definately a keeper, they taste great on flour tortilla's as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
INCREDIBLE! Only changes were I cooked the corn tortillas in 2 Tablespoons oil to make them hold together, and that worked well. I also used Alaskan Halibut. We like spicy, and we were not dissapointed! I also cooked the corn as another member had suggested. As we would say when we haul in a nice Halibut, "It's a keeper!" I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was delicious! I made some adjustments - no jicama, extra cilantro, less cayanne. Great! Really fast & easy as well. I don't have a grill, so I used a Le Crueset grill pan & it turned out fine. Like another reviewer said, I would use flour tortilla next time, because I don't think my grocery's corn are that fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Yes, I know I should have realized that when it said fiery, it would be hot. But holy hannah, I cut the cayenne to 1 tsp., pepper and salt to 1/2 tsp each and it still almost took our heads off.(to those who can eat it that hot, hats off to you) Still it was fabulous, and you HAVE to make the corn salsa with it. I doulbed corn (no jicama) and chopped up a avacado. My kids loved it, the oldest even loved the heat, youngest not so much and my husband ate it sans the salsa or avacado. With a little tweaking for our "tender midwest" palate, I will definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I sprinkled the spices too liberally, my husband thought this way too hot. I loved it as is, but next time I'll make it a bit less hot. I did not use sour cream, but I had guacamole that I put on instead. I used flour tortillas because I like them better. There was plenty of corn salsa (no jicama could be found, I added a bit of tomato), so I am making this again tonight. I loved it, just be careful on the spices if others are spice-sensitive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Delish! I blackened the corn in a skillet (no oil or water) and added diced avocado. This was so very good! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States