Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This was very good, I made a few adjustments, the amount of cayenne pepper was way more than we like and we like moderately spicy foods. The corn tortillas were too dry tasting so we had our second taco with flour tortillas, much better ( the corn tortillas you can get in places with very fresh tortillas would probably be fine, our stores only carry fresh for 30+ days tortillas). My husband loved the salsa, but we felt it was a little dry, will probably add a little fresh diced, seeded tomato to it next time. Good combination otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: La Verne, California, USA
Living In: Danville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Excellent! ~ These tacos are sooo good. I can't wait to make 'em again. But, here's the only thing...the recipe for the spices makes waaaay too much. So, cut it at least in half (you'll still probably have too much left over). We reduced the amount of the red pepper as well and they were still too firey for our (spicy) taste. The salsa mixture is wonderful (although I couldn't finD jicama in our store). We didn't fnd the salsa dry at all because the sour cream adds a creamy taste. Toss the tortillas on the grill for a bit. YUM! This one's a keeper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
I made this with salmon because that was the fish I had on hand. It was very good. The amount of cayenne just terrified me so I cut back to one tablespoon and it was more than enough. I substituted diced tomato for the red pepper in the salsa but added a few shakes of red pepper flakes. Whole wheat tortillas rounded out this very tasty meal. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This is an excellent recipe. I made it with mahi-mahi. I processed the jicama, the onion, and the pepper in the food processor, which made the salsa nice and moist. It made a ton of the stuff...good thing we really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This was the best tilapia I have had. However, the corn salsa needs a tomato base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I think this would have been a great meal, except we didn't cut down on the amount of cayenne pepper it said to use, and unfortunately the fish was just too spicy for our taste. I would definetly cut down on the spices. My son loved the jicama in the salsa though, and he ate several spoonfulls of just that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
We like spicy fish, so this was perfect. We loved the salsa and the fresh healthy taste of this fish taco recipe. We will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I LOVE spicy food but this was way too much cayanne papper. I should have cut it back to about half of what is called for. I used canned corn nibblets but did not cook the corn first. BIG MISTAKE. The recipe doesnt tell you to cook the corn but I should have figured it out. Cook the Corn first! The salsa is the best part of the dish. Magnificent! But the fish is so-so. I couldnt find the jicama at the market. So I rated it 4 because of my own errors but I will make it again the right way and we will see....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was our first attempt at fish tacos. They were good enough to convince us to try fish tacos again, but probably not with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
We LOVE these!! So easy to make- light and delicious. We use flour tortillas instead of corn. One of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

See how to turn tilapia filets into tasty marinated fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States