Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
WAYYY too much salt and spice. Use about 1/4 of the salt and 1/2 of the pepper and it would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
A little spicy, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I was slightly hesitant with this one b/c I had never had the jicama before. Other reviews who had described it as a cross between a potato and a water chestnut were correct. All of the ingredients together were a perfect blend. One review stated they added a jalapeno, cilantro, garlic, and salt to the sour cream as like a sauce and that paired with this salsa was PERFECT! After eating this with fish, I even ventured off and used it as an actual salsa with tortilla chips and then the next day with taco meat and Spanish rice. This is definitely a multi-functional (healthy) recipe and I will be making it again. Oh, and please remember to use red BELL peppers, not red spicy peppers. This was not a hot salsa at all, it was very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstopka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
We like spicy, but the measurements for the seasoning seemed WAY off, so I halved them, and the tacos, even with gobs of sour cream, were hot enough to make us sniffle and sweat. The salsa is really good, and I have a ton of it leftover to eat with chips. Great way to serve my least favorite fish though - I'll make these again if I have tillapia in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
If I would have changed the recipe like so many reviews said, I think it would have been delicious. However, I followed the recipe exactly and I think my mouth is burning off! I like spicy food, almost everything I cook is spicy, but wow! Waaaay too much! The salsa was delicious and did help to cool it down but not enough for how much cayenne I put on the fish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Very tasty, will keep for the future. Lot of prep work in chopping which I am very slow at. Since I think we have some extra spicy cayenne in our house I only used 2 tsp. I also got the salt back to 1 Tbsp. This was the first time I had a bad reaction to the cayenne floating around so I will be buying some normal pepper soon. We cooked the fish for about 3 min per side on a grill pan on the stove top. I should've turned on the fan before I put the fish on because the cayenne pepper had us all coughing. I didn't have red pepper, so I substituted with green. We had lots of jicama which I normally don't eat, but in the salsa it was really good. I didn't use any sour cream since I didn't have any, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Yum! These tacos are sooo good. I can't wait to make 'em again. But, the recipe for the spices makes waaaay too much. So, cut it at least in half (you'll still probably have too much left over. I was wondering how the salsa mixture would taste wit the fish cuz it's different but it turned out amazing together!!! The only thing I changed was blending up a jalapeno, a little homemade salsa and sea salt together and mixed in into the sour cream to give it more of a kick. Toss the tortillas on the grill for a bit. Different and amazing! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I just finished making these! They were super good. I didn't use a lot of the cayenne pepper because it Is extremely spicy. I made pica de gallo also. No jicama or red pepper but it was still very good and flavorful. We just used the pica de gallo & corn for topping & a little shredded mozzarella cheese. We fried flour shells with olive oil because corn shells always seem dry. This is the first time I've ever made FISH and it will not be the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thaco0kinmamah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This is a great receipe, the salsa is a must. I made a couple of changes due to what I have I hand. For the fish, I combine pepper and cayene and olive oil and brushed it onto the fish and pan fried it until fish flaked. For the salsa, I use whatever peppers were growing in garden: red and green peppers, jalepeno, and cayene. Combine it with cilantro and red onion and yellow onion and corn. I wasn't sure about the lime juice but it is a key ingredient. Depending on how much cayene pepper you use, sour cream is a great side to have to mellow out the spice. Its a prety quick receipe to make as long as you have two people working on it (the chopping takes awhile)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
The corn salsa is excellent and give a very unique flair to fish tacos. I served with Cilantro Serrano Cream Sauce and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States