Fierro Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Sauce is very good and my husband says it tasted like the sauces at our favorite Tex Mex places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
FIRST OF ALL, THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING JUST AS IS. I MAKE IT A DAY BEFORE I SERVE IT. I DO NOT LIKE IT WITH ANYTHING LESS THAN HEAVY CREAM. The ingredients from this recipe also can be used to make a DELICIOUS enchilada cassarole. Simply make a sauce using DOUBLE THE AMOUNTS OF the softened cream cheese, canned chiles, chili powder, enchilada sauce and heavy cream, ADD 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp onion powder. Mix together in a sauce pan and stir together until all cream cheese is melted and sauce is well mixed, "don't cook sauce". Use 3 cups of chopped cooked chicken. I use left over bbq'd chicken or a store bought rotisserie chicken and it works great. Make alternate layers using 8-10 flour tortillas, sauce, cheddar cheese, and chicken. Finish top layer with cheese and some black olives and bake 35-40 mins at 350. You can either use or omit the mushrooms for the enchiladas, I do use them chopped very small. Use as much or as little of the sauce on the cassarole to your liking. Let this rest before serving or it falls apart. As with everything this recipe is always better the second day. Serve with your favorite rice and beans and/or salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This is really good. My family loved it. I used green enchilada sauce and served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
We really liked this one. It was super easy and delicious. My husband said it was restaurant quality. I actually didn't have half and half on hand, so I substituted for whole milk and just didn't put as much in to try to keep the texture, and it was still amazing. We cut it up and put it on rice like one reviewer suggested, and it was a great way to use all the yummy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I loved this dish. My only changes were I used unsweetened almond milk instead of heavy cream, used a Mexican blend of cheese and added chipotle chili powder and cumin. I served it with homemade salsa, a side of refried beans and lime/cilantro rice...it was restaurant quality. I couldn't wait to eat it the next day for lunch. The sauce is exquisite and my husband actually stood over the dish with a spoon and ate the sauce after he was finished with dinner! Thanks so much for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Very EASY and great tasting! Served over rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
we enjoyed this dish tonight. i had to scale back the spices because the kids were having it, but they both seemed to like it. we served it over rice and with broccoli, and it was nice to have extra sauce to pour over the side dishes. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I thought this was really tasty but needed some other vegetables or rice to go along with it. I should have thought of that before making it but it was just a little plain with just the chicken and the mushrooms. But, it was super easy, fast and tasty so that was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I made just as the recipe was written. I have to say next time I would skip the mushrooms and add some cumin as some others have. I used green enchilada sauce, which I did like. Be sure to cook uncovered, otherwise it is too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
when my husband, who groans everytime I say we're having chicken for dinner, says a chicken recipe is "good"; I know it's really terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States