Field Grade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
Absolutely delicious. Finally, a sauce that truly stands out from the pack! Great mixture of spices. Freezes very well, tastes just as good as when it was first made! A+!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
This sauce is excellent. However, the submitter is wrong as to the definition of "field grade." Field grade is pay grades O4 through O6 (Major through Colonel). O7 and above are general officers. "Cream of the crop" can be found at every level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This spaghetti sauce recipe should GO TO THE HEAD OF THE CLASS! It is, without question, the best I've ever tasted, and what a surprisingly delightful blend of flavors. I threw out all my other spaghetti sauce recipes I've been making for years because this one is THE BEST!! As for being a meaty sauce, well I tried it with less ground beef also and found that either way is excellent -- depending on one's preference. This sauce will definitely go in my next family cookbok. Thanx so very much for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I tried this recipe/entire family loved it/have been featuring it in my diner on Friday nites for 3 months now/customers can't get enough of it/Friday nite business has increased by 30-35% since adding this dish! I was even offered $200 for the recipe, but my lips are sealed. Thnx for sharing this superb recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This is the best spaghetti sauce. My husband, who usually makes up his own sauce as he cooks, loved this one. He even said it was better than his. A definite keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This is a wonderful recipe! If you like things with a unique flair, try this sauce. My husband loved it. I bet it would make a superb lasagna sauce as well. You can add extra seasonings to your taste, as it simmers. GREAT RECIPE! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIPPIEJAX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
THIS HAS GOT TO BE A 10-STAR RECIPE IF EVER THERE WAS ONE! For over 25 years I've been searching for 'THE' spaghetti sauce recipe. Friends and relatives have been sending me recipes they come acoss FOR MANY YEARS NOW, and each one I've tried, in addition to hundreds of others I've come across. THIS RECIPE HAS A UNIQUE FLAVOR THAT MAKES OTHER PALE IN COMPARISON. Poni, you've made my day, my week, my month, and even my year! Now I think I'll begin my search for the perfect cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
This is thick and very good. I like a stronger tomato flavor, so I added a can of tomato paste. Smells wonderful, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS SAUCE WAS SO TASTY. I HAD NEVER COOKED WITH WINE BEFORE SO I WAS A LITTLE HESITANT, BUT THE RESULTS WERE GREAT. I MADE A DOUBLE BATCH SO I HAD SOME TO FREEZE AND I AM SO GLAD I DID.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
The whole family loved this recipe, we did have to make some changes because we did not have all the ingredients as listed. I used ground turkey instead of beef, a can of cream of mushroon soup instead of mushrooms (actually made it a lot creamier)and we did add 4 small slices of Old El Paso pickled Jalopeno's diced very fine which added a nice zip without too much heat. There is no way anyone could say this is bland, it's a nice blend of spices and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States