Field Grade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
Because of all the rave reviews this recipe has received I made this meal last night for my fiancee, who just returned from Iraq. (this was his first real meal in five months and he had wanted spaghetti)I'm sorry, but I just didn't think it was that spectacular. I agree with those reviewers who said the sauce lacked flavor. It had an odd smell and after taste, which I think is due to the onion mix. I'm sure the sauce will taste better today. But if you are looking for a traditional sauce recipe, this is not the one for you. As a side note, my fiancee liked the sauce and with him coming back from war, that's all I cared about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
This is the best spaghetti sauce. My husband, who usually makes up his own sauce as he cooks, loved this one. He even said it was better than his. A definite keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I thought this was a good recipe, though my husband enjoyed it as well, he thought I needed to keep trying. The taste was an original. I liked the different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWEL_ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS SAUCE WAS SO TASTY. I HAD NEVER COOKED WITH WINE BEFORE SO I WAS A LITTLE HESITANT, BUT THE RESULTS WERE GREAT. I MADE A DOUBLE BATCH SO I HAD SOME TO FREEZE AND I AM SO GLAD I DID.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
This is thick and very good. I like a stronger tomato flavor, so I added a can of tomato paste. Smells wonderful, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
I thought it was salty tasting and not very flavorful. It was better the next day as leftovers so I will keep it in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
I tried this recipe/entire family loved it/have been featuring it in my diner on Friday nites for 3 months now/customers can't get enough of it/Friday nite business has increased by 30-35% since adding this dish! I was even offered $200 for the recipe, but my lips are sealed. Thnx for sharing this superb recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I did not care for this sauce. I followed the recipe exactly but I didn't like the flavor while eating it and especially didn't like the after-taste. However, my boyfriend thought it was allright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This spaghetti sauce recipe should GO TO THE HEAD OF THE CLASS! It is, without question, the best I've ever tasted, and what a surprisingly delightful blend of flavors. I threw out all my other spaghetti sauce recipes I've been making for years because this one is THE BEST!! As for being a meaty sauce, well I tried it with less ground beef also and found that either way is excellent -- depending on one's preference. This sauce will definitely go in my next family cookbok. Thanx so very much for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
THIS HAS GOT TO BE A 10-STAR RECIPE IF EVER THERE WAS ONE! For over 25 years I've been searching for 'THE' spaghetti sauce recipe. Friends and relatives have been sending me recipes they come acoss FOR MANY YEARS NOW, and each one I've tried, in addition to hundreds of others I've come across. THIS RECIPE HAS A UNIQUE FLAVOR THAT MAKES OTHER PALE IN COMPARISON. Poni, you've made my day, my week, my month, and even my year! Now I think I'll begin my search for the perfect cheese cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States